June 13, 2013

  • {moving here. staying here. learning to be all here}

    juneness 019juneness 081
    juneness 074juneness 105

    i was always that kid that couldn’t go to sleepovers.
    i never made it.
    i always ended up in tears, my parents having to be called.

    even as a teenager i wasn’t a whole lot better. 
    i remember at fifteen flying to this girls conference thing with the homeschool group we were part of. 
    i hated that week. i was miserable.

    tracey, a girl from my hometown that i didn’t really know at the time flew out to the conference with me.
    she would later tell me how i talked incessantly the whole way about a recent trip to my aunt’s house in atlanta, georgia where i was supposed to stay with her for several weeks until her baby was born but i only lasted like three days and i had no idea how i was going to survive that week at the conference because i was already so homesick.   

    tracey would later go on to become one of my closest friends.

    and we still laugh about our first flight together. though i tell her i have no memory of carrying on that way!  i mean, over sharing with basically total strangers doesn’t sound like me at all!! ; )

    so, it’s kinda funny when you think the kid who couldn’t stand to leave home would move 800 miles away. and twice!

    the first time, as a newlywed, felt much different than the second.

    the first time it was about beginning a new life. an adventure…

    maybe i read too many janette oke books growing up. her canadian west series!
    and the idea of the rugged northern frontier and canadian mounties and wolves all held a wide eyed fascination.

    but in reality i was like every other normal girl that fell in love with a guy -
    and wherever he happened to be is what would become my home. location didn’t matter!!  
    though that was before i’d lived a winter here. ;)

    the second time i moved here was much harder…

    instead of beginning a life, we were uprooting one we loved.
    and though i still felt a bit of that canadian adventure in me, i was far more concerned with how the “adventure” would effect the four tender souls entrusted to my care.

    but my reason for moving hadn’t changed. i loved this man and where he went i wanted to be.

    and though i can’t imagine not being married to him and doing life next to him it doesn’t take away from longing for others i love. i just long for and love him most! :)

    homesickness is a strange sort of feeling. it just kinda settles in right around your heart and never really leaves.
    and the silliest things can trigger the tears.
    like standing in the brand new opened panera line yesterday..
    a lady behind me mentions how glad she is to finally have panera in canada.
    saying how she and her husband eat at them all the time when they go to florida. 

    “they’re just all the way down 75 south..”

    i smile. and tell her i know.

    “75 south is what takes me home. i’m from cincinnati.”

    and then she slaps my arm and starts talking all excited about the times they have stopped there and what a pretty city it is. and i listen and feel tears, not because i’m sad. not really. but because we both share this mutual love for a place dear to my heart and yes, i miss it.

    but the thing is this. i can’t let my missing what once was cause me to miss what’s right in front of me!

    juneness 123

    juneness 109

    i really came face to face with this a few weeks ago when shayne started his first monday morning back in the land of the self employed.
    it was a change i knew was coming. we had talked about it for months. it was all in the works.
    the company he was with this past year had been great! and he’s still doing some subcontracting for them…
    but financially we needed other options. 
    and when some opportunities to be in business for himself again came up, shayne thought it was the best route.

    it’s weird though how you can know something’s coming.. and yet it still take you by surprise!
    like the drop on a roller coaster. you’re slowly going up.up.up. higher and higher. and you know what’s on the other side. you anticipate it. it’s why you’re on there to begin with. that thrill!
    but then. then there’s that pause at the top. that pause for a split second that’s just long enough for your life to flash before your eyes and suddenly you think this isn’t such a great idea after all!  you want off. you want out. and hey! those stairs that run alongside the tracks are there for a reason!! thing is, there’s that heavy metal bar across your chest holding you in. you’re already committed. there’s no backing out. so what do you do? the only thing you can – - shut your eyes hard. hold on tight. and scream at the top of your lungs as you plunge straight forward down towards the earth at eye watering speed!  

    i’d say we’re still in that “drop mode” around here. or maybe that’s just what it means to be self employed. ha!
    but the biggest adjustment for me wasn’t the switch from the norm. the security of an every two week paycheck. the loss of  benefits. or having a company truck or computer or perks… it was coming to terms with the realization we’d be staying here longer!

    i remember the first time it hit me. we were driving somewhere together, shayne and i. he was talking about things with the business and since i’m not really a very business minded kind of gal i just sat and smiled pretty and nodded my head. but then, he mentioned something about 6, 7, 8 years down the road and i felt like my brain went fuzzy. i think i was still smiling and nodding but i wasn’t hearing a word he said. after awhile he asked, “babe? you listening?”

    “huh?” i said snapping back to attention, “uh.. no. you kinda lost me at the 6, 7, 8 year thing…”

    this move here was never supposed to be long term. it was never the plan. 
    and though i said i “surrendered” my plans to God, suddenly surrender looked entirely different. 
    and that moment in the car was one of those moments on top of the roller coaster. that pause.
    hello! let me off this thing. this is not what i thought it was!!

    because yes. surrender rarely is what i think it is.

    giving in to something just because i know there’s no other option or way around it is not surrender.
    doing what i need to do to get by until i can get back to the plan i wanted is not surrender.
    even resolving to not be miserable but look for the joy and live in the moment, is not surrender either.

    surrender only looks one way. 
    arms out. hands open. self abandoned. holding onto nothing except Jesus.

    there’s been way too many times in my life where outwardly i had all the right appearances of surrender.
    good at looking the part. but inside – a heart full of resentment, even bitterness at what God was doing.

    i’m done with that. i want it to be real.
    i want what i’ve grown up my whole life saying i believe to truly be what i believe!

    it’s not easy. surrender never is. 
    oh, talking about it. singing the songs and quoting the verses is easy.  

    but when God says, “now live it.” and maybe living it means living it someplace 800 miles from family we love and friends we miss. a place that’s familiar and a country that’s ours. maybe living it means giving up how i thought life was supposed to go.. yeah, that’s the hard part. 

    yet i want peace in my life. i want a calm and assurance that isn’t rocked by any circumstance or trial. and i know there’s only way to that kind of peace – it’s not found in chasing the american dream or having a great job. it’s not living by family or having security stashed away in a bank account. it’s found only in the person of Jesus. only.

    juneness 095

    juneness 110

    juneness 062

    but even as i write that.. even now. i know i’m not going to consistently live like i believe that.
    i’m going to forget what i write here. i’m going to get tired. i’m going to doubt. i’m going to think all this surrender stuff is for the birds!
    i’m going to stand up and want off this ride.

    but i also know this …

    no matter what, i’ll come back to the same conclusion. i always do.
    this isn’t unfamiliar territory to me. trusting an unknown future to an all wise God.
    He and i have traveled this way before together. many times now. 
    and same as before, i’ll struggle. i’ll want to give in. to give up…
     but He’ll love me just the same and let mercy draw me back.

    i’ve always liked that bible verse that talks about the Lord rejoicing over you with singing.
    but it wasn’t until recently the first half of it really stood out to me - 

    “The Lord your God in the midst of you is mighty.. He will save.”

    and it’s that word midst. in the middle. right in the thick of it.
    that’s what i loved. what i needed a visual of.

    He’s not on the outskirts. standing by. merely cheering us on. 
    He’s not an observer of our life. He’s a participant.
    not standing there hoping we make it through.
    but helping us through. walking us through. sometimes, yes, even carrying us through.

    He’s in the middle of our lives. He is mighty and He never stops saving us!
     
    “many are the plans in a person’s heart..
    but God’s purpose’s shall prevail.” prov. 19:21

    i don’t want to be here simply because i’m here, i want to be all here.
    maybe it’s not forever. maybe it’s for who knows how long. but it is for now.
    and i don’t want to live life waiting on the life i want and miss the life of TODAY!

    i might be screaming at the top of my lungs.
    and my knuckles might go white from holding on so tight.
    but i’m holding.

    juneness 071

    juneness 113

    juneness 057

    “Your journey has molded you for the greater good, and it was exactly what it needed to be.
    Don’t think you’ve lost time. It took each and every situation you have encountered to bring you to the now.
    And now is right on time.”

    amber.

Comments (31)

  • This is a tough one.
    I’m proud of you for the truth you are seeing and stating. I know a little about the emotion that comes with living away from where you may want to be. I had four years a little away, then six years WAY away and I knew it was most likely ending. It was so hard but not half as hard if I hadn’t known the ending. So this post is convicting and one that makes me eat to pray for you in the coming months and years because its r.e.a.l. It’s weird how we plan life and why?! It’s not like we can make it happen like we want it to.
    So yes. Proud of you and challenged by your willingness to be fully vested in where you are today. Praying for joy and blessings at every turn.
    Not proof reading so good luck de coding any typos!!

  • Surrender. So hard. I hope that the self-employment venture is more fun than stressful, and very soon! :D

  • Oh wow – so much of what you said has made me sit here and nod my head at my computer. We are in similar situations, my friend. : ) I loved what you said here…

    “though i can’t imagine not being married to him and doing life next to him it doesn’t take away from longing for others i love. i just long for and love him most! :)

    SOOOOO TRUE!!! That perfectly PERFECTLY describes it!

    We are looking at moving soon, probably in the next year. It will most likely be further from family. Further as in not-driveable-in-a-day anymore. I loved your thoughts on surrender. I need them!

    And as you adjust to the fact that you will be living up North longer…I hope that adjustment comes easily. I pray that God gives you many things in a day to smile about. And that the being “all there” comes easily. : )

    Love ya, girl!

  • awesome…. I love zeph 3:17…. now I love it even more

  • Zephaniah 3:17 was one of our best guitar choruses (back when we used to do them). It went sorta like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ui1wuyKpjWs

  • The Lord your God is in the midst! Praying this over you dear friend as you venture further.

    I think this homesick feeling you have is the same that I see with some of my elderly friends longing for their eternal home.

  • oh wow do I understanding!
    It’s been 10 years in the pacific north west for me with no family around, with every holiday/birthday being a struggle. I hear you!
    ‘ll be thinking about you anytime I get that homesickness or disgruntlement :)
    love the pretty/peaceful pictures you posted!

  • OH, the NOW LIVE IT thing is hard indeed! I remember that old song, “I’ll go where you want me to go, dear Lord.” HA! I also remember the rebellious feelings when He actually DID call me to go. When we moved to Denmark, I saw it as a year or two kind of thing. Well, now we have been here 12 years! In many ways, it feels like home, yet it can never really BE HOME. I long so much for my homeland some days. I long for those friends who really “get me” and who I can empress myself to IN ENGLISH with few misunderstandings! I long for the stores, restaurants, and even the weather I was used to for the first 49 years of my life. But, mostly, I miss the people. The sense of “American-ness” that is so special. But here I am. And I am glad to be doing life with this man of 40 years married. I am glad whenever I see growth and freedom in the people we serve. I rejoice when I know that wonderful knowing that God has used me. It really is all about being HIS — wherever He asks us to be, isn’t it? Blessings to you, dear Amber.

  • i really like… no, “like” is not the best word… i agree with the verse “many are the plans in a person’s heart..
    but God’s purpose’s shall prevail.” it’s so true. we can fight and kick and scream about it, but it doesn’t change things (not for the better, anyhow!)

    bless you as you live indefinitely in Canada in obedience. and hey, the way some people are talking all doom and gloom on the US, you might end up being glad you live there some day!

  • Well said! And your pictures are always so gorgeous. I hope you continue to blog someplace, have you made plans for that yet?

  • @ToLiveLoved - yes, i think it was easier to “surrender” the move here in the first place because i knew an end was in sight. but apparently my surrender mode expires at the two year mark! haha! ;) it’s an ongoing lesson but i was/am tired of fighting depression and just feeling blah because of pining away for what once was, or what i wanted.

    and i’m not sure if “eat to pray” is a southern expression or a typo. but i like the sounds of it!! :) )

    happy friday dear~

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - thanks bethie lou!! i’m all for the fun!! :) )

  • You write so beautifully. Thank your for sharing this!I will be praying for you and your family.

  • @rnjennison - i couldn’t get the video to play.. i’ll try later. i’d love to hear that verse put to song!

  • ohhh.. not within a days drive? ugh. that changes things, doesn’t it? i hear ya. that’s one thing i’ve said i’m thankful for is atleast we can still make the trip in a day – i’ll be thinking of you in the months ahead with the new changes coming. hope you and baby are well. :) love ya back~

  • @CBrown6207 - ohhh.. not within a days drive? ugh. that changes things, doesn’t it? i hear ya. that’s one thing i’ve said i’m thankful for is atleast we can still make the trip in a day – i’ll be thinking of you in the months ahead with the new changes coming. hope you and baby are well. :) love ya back~

  • @srheam - thanks for your prayers, friend. and yes… i think of that quote from c.s. lewis often that says, “If I find in myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.”

    have a great weekend. xo

  • @Cluesy - thinking of you too, girl. and i know you’re even further from family than i am. being able to drive there in a day does make a difference. hugs! let’s meet at niagara this summer. :) ))

  • @DanishDoll - ”the American-ness.” yes, YES!! and you don’t get it unless you’re american. :) ) i told shayne no matter what i was going home this 4th of july.. weird out of all the holidays i just hate not being home for that one!! and that song, “i’ll go where you want me to go..” a girlfriend and i used to sing that all the time in church. of course, that’s when i was young and naive and didn’t think God would really take me up on it. ha!! ;) ) i wish we could sit and share a cup of tea and talk.. i have much to glean from you my friend. looking forward to that in heaven someday! you think God will let us have sugar there? i have to have sugar in my tea. ;)

  • @richlyblest - haha! true. that’s what i always tell my family.. maybe God brought me up here so y’all will have someplace to go when things get nasty in the states. :) )

  • one of my fav albums right now is peter furler’s. i think i love every song. :) and one of them reminds me of the book of james. and i thought of it with your words, “now live it.” (http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/peterfurler/allinyourhead.html)
    whoa. and when i first read this yesterday, it was about 15 minutes after i returned home from a… consult. and i quoted job outloud to the only listening ear at that time—my Father God. and it was all about surrender. so i hear you. i do. when aching about something i wanted or ha needed can distort my ability to see what’s in front of my nose! now! i don’t want to forget the fact that my purpose here on this planet was designed to outlive me, been thinking LOTs about that. too.

    here’s to you. me. all of us. being all here. where ever that HERE is.
    xo

  • I am sure heavenly tea will taste amazing! Sugar or not! It’s a date! I would love to spend an afternoon visiting with you. As we say, “Det ville være så hyggeligt!” That would be so cozy. There is honestly no good word in English to interpret that last one in Danish, but it would be that at your house, I’m sure! And HEAVEN! WOW! It will be totally hyggeligt! I was inspired by your pics, and we were out checking some second hand shops today. I found a few treasures and plan to do something similar to your wire basket idea. Only my basket is a… basket! Only 3 kroner. What a deal! I will put some bottles, some colored marbles and a few seashells in it. Nothing that little hands cannot explore. I like colored glass. It always reminds me of stained glass windows, which reminds me of the Body of Christ — so many beautiful colors together with the SON shining through us!

  • @grace_to_be - If we try to play YouTube’s on our “FIREFOX” internet connection, nothing happens. It’s probably our security settings but I’m not savvy enough to figure it out. We also use “GOOGLE/CHROME” and that works for playing YouTube’s. There are two versions of that Zeph 3:17 on YouTube and this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ui1wuyKpjWs) version is the one we used. Did you ever play the piano duet called Heart and Soul? It uses that chord progression. Anyway it’s real bouncy and I think it’s really catchy.

  • @rnjennison - thanks. i’ll try it through chrome. and yup – used to play heart&soul all the time as a kid. ;) )

  • @down_onthefarm - ”i don’t want to forget the fact that my purpose here on this planet was designed to outlive me..” good GOOD stuff, cindy! i love that. suddenly with that thought it just instantly makes whatever i’m going through seem so much less than it is. thinking of you lots these days. i know surrender is a tender word for you right now too. so grateful i have you doing life next to me!

  • @DanishDoll - heavenly tea sounds lovely! i’ll meet ya there. ;) and post a pic when you get your little basket all arranged, i wanna see. love the concept of stained glass.. never thought of it like that before!

  • why is it that every time i stop by here & read that i always finish with ‘ahh, she is so right.’ ‘ahh, she’s so beautiful’ ‘ahh, our God is so amamzing & gentle & wise & good …’
    maybe you’re just missing those long prairie skirts on your Canadian adventures – lol.
    if nothing else you’re doing a spectacular job of pointing to Jesus ….
    xo ~

  • Your pictures are beautiful. I love seeing inside your home!

  • i don’t want to be here simply because i’m here, i want to be all here.
    maybe it’s not forever. maybe it’s for who knows how long. but it is for now.
    and i don’t want to live life waiting on the life i want and miss the life of TODAY!

    LOVE this little section here ya wrote! Very Ann Voskamp.
    I’m going to copy it down and remind myself…I’m not simply here. No matter the situation.
    What you wrote about surrendering, so true. So, so true..it’s easy to say, but to live…Yikes!
    Thank you for this post.

    Hugs and Love to you.
    XxOo

  • i have always said that if i could import any restaurant to canada it would be Panera!!! so jealous that you got one!!! enjoy it for me :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *