November 14, 2012

  • {being mom}

    family pics~ 029
    family pics~ 023

    it was a crazy weekend.
    busy. full.

    by sunday night you could already see the tiredness before the week had even begun.
    and by monday morning the attitudes were flying hard…
    i was pretty near positive i’d lose my salvation before i could manage to get the kids out the door to school! ;)

    monday night brought more busyness and, “you have to be where, by when?”
    said to the clueless teenager as to why last minute details never go over big with parents!
    and plans changing, car keys grabbing, and pork chops left burning!!

    by tuesday morning i woke up feeling exhausted, as if the entire week had passed and not just only on the second day in~

    i slipped out of bed and went to wake up the kids.
    passing the window, then stopping and going back to look out.
    a tiny dusting of snow across the rooftops of the houses. so peaceful.
    and as i stood there still in the morning silence i suddenly made my mind up to do something i’ve never done before..

    i went in to where kate was just starting to get up and asked if she had any tests that day.
    when she said no, i told her to go back to bed. then i went and asked ben and told him the same.

    so the house stayed quiet and slept!
    except of course, baby cakes of the family, who is always bright eyed and bushy tailed first thing every morning.

    when everyone else finally emerged and once emma got over her confusion that no, this really wasn’t saturday..
    i double checked with less sleepy headed kids that there really wasn’t anything major they would be missing in class-
    and so all of us in pajama pants or something cozy, and hair still wild and uncombed just kicked back and enjoyed the day! relaxing. being together~

    i let the laundry go. the dishes sit. the clothes all over my bedroom floor that my closet threw up, just lay in a heap.
    {and yes! that’s a big deal for this project driven ocd perfectionist pms-y on top of it mama}
     
    instead we read books and talked and ate peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and almost every single pumpkin muffin i’d made.
    we watched looney tunes and mantracker and listened to johnny cash..
    ben and i even practiced our gangnam style dancing. ;)
     
    it didn’t last all day. there were errands to do later and job training for kate and youth for ben.
    but while it did it was great. it was needed.
    one of those days i know the kids will look back on like, “remember the time mom let us skip school…” 

    most of the time being mom means making sure they aren’t skipping.
    that their homework’s finished.
    bed made.
    clothes folded.
    chores done.
    teeth brushed.
    instrument practiced.
    to their game on time.
    new mouth guard bought.
    shoes tied.
    showered afterwards.
    papers signed.
    fruit packed in their lunch.
    and clean underwear on!

    but sometimes. every now and then. being mom means it’s okay too,  just letting it all go..

    sittingonabenchbythewater

Comments (27)

  • what a fun day! I love reading about your ‘mom’ days :) Wouldn’t be so awesome to go to school and tell your friends your mom let you skip school? :)

  • I love the way you mommy!

  • Amen mommy! Just think that a day like that keeps tempers from fraying, all from getting sick due to frazzledness, and knits you together.

  • I love it. I want to do it sometime too. :D

  • You are such a good mom. Really!! I bet your kids will never forget that day!

  • You are great Amber! I’m sure the kids WILL remember that day years from now.
    So fun…Happy Wednesday!
    xoxo

  • How fun!!!  I vividly remember the few times I got to miss school and how special those times were.  You are such a good mom!

  • I love it!  Made me remember “Senior Skip Day” for me, not school sanctioned, but kinda overlooked.  My folks not only let me skip school, but took me to the mall and out to eat at Red Lobster.  Might not seem like much, but for a country girl, and the fact that this was 35 years ago, this was such a treat!

    I love the way you mommy, too, Amber!  Glad y’all had such a great day!

  • LOVE! and you are so right…this was the best choice you could have made.
    one of my very most cherished memeories of my awful teen years was when mom let me skip school for a day and we went shopping. her, me, and my little sister.

  • pumpkin muffins sound wonderful!  I’d skip school for one of those, I think ~

  • I love it! Sounds like what you all needed most! I remember when I used to go sign my younger two boys out of school early so we could all go watch their older brother’s football game together. One time when I showed up and went to the office the principal was there to meet me…to tell me I was a “good mom”…I thought that was pretty cool!

  • love everything about this!!!!

  • This is great!You certainly made the right choice. Your kids will never forget this day!

  • You are a WONDERFUL mommy!! Your children will look back with fond memories of that day!

  • Sounds like an awesome day!

  • you are such a good mom :)

  • Sounds like a fun day…more happy memories made :)

  • I think that was an awesome idea!! I know what you mean about sometimes just all needing some downtime.  And also how it seems SO much of our life as a Mom consists of “Do this! Did you take care of that?  You need to be here…NOW!”  and that gets so old sometimes.  Way to break out of the mold!

  • LOVE this! You ARE a good mom. :)   And those days aren’t just fun for the kids, they’re fun for the mom too!

  • I LOVE it.
    And I think I’d love to be your kid. :)
    I have to remember to do stuff like this even with my little kids – to just pack up and go get pumpkins to paint, or go get a drink at Sonic, or just something out of the ordinary and fun. That’s what makes the memories, right? Such a fun post!

  • i could totally close my eyes and see you and your beautiful kids just taking the day s.l.o.w.l.y. Watching looney tunes and eating pumpkin muffins. i love how you follow your heart.

  • That’s so cool! Sounds like you guys had a wonderful day! Love the photos of the kids! They’re getting so big!

    I’ve missed you, sweet friend! (((((BIG HUGE HUGS)))))

  • What a fun mom and family you all are! Such a great idea!
    Can’t believe how grown up Ben and Kate are looking and so good looking, like their mom!

  • Can you just be my mom for a day? ;) This is such a fantastic idea! That constant going, going, going thing can just put everyone over the brink so quickly. And doing something like this that is so completely different and out of character will definitely star in their memory banks!!

  • it’s one in the morning … this was really good. i’ll be back … later, or earlier or …. sometime! happy weekend ~

  • this is so neat…. I could feel tears behind my eye lids when I read this… what a loving mom you are!

  • shower doors

    I beyond doubt appreciate your articles and blogs

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *