December 18, 2012

  • {what i want the connecticut moms to know}

    i sat up late sunday night trying to put my thoughts here about what happened last friday.
    fear for my own kids gripped me and i dreaded monday morning.
    but no matter what i wrote, it all seemed so empty. so shallow. selfish.
    atleast i still had my second grader to drive to school. to kiss goodbye.
    to hug and smile and say i love you more than once because yes, don’t we all take a little more time for that now.

    andgone

    and still. several days later, i find myself still stumbling over the words.
    words don’t line up well when nothing makes sense.
    and i wouldn’t even try only, i keep thinking of you moms..
    and my heart just folds right up imagining all you must be feeling.

    i guess if i could tell you anything it would be just this..
    your pain is not lost on us.
    women like me. women all over. fellow moms.
    it is more than just another news story. another tragedy.
    any one of us could be standing where you are.
    we are all affected.
    we are all changed.

    and so we move a little slower through our days.
    hold our kids a little tighter.
    react a little stronger to the superficial nothings that suck us in.
    look around our broken world with a new soberness.
    and see with different eyes, a bit more clearly, what matters in life.

    i wish there were answers for such senselessness.
    such unnecessary loss.

    i don’t pretend to understand why the story often unfolds as it does.
    but i do know what the final chapter holds~

    and there will come a day when Light triumphs over darkness.
    when wrongs are made right.
    when wounds are forever healed. and no more tears will fall.

    when mother’s arms are filled once again with the precious little ones they have missed and ached for.

    i know i speak for many when i say, we love you connecticut moms.
    you are in our prayers and we will not forget.

    7986264176_cc98ef6bb8_c

Comments (19)

  • This is beautiful.  Words seem so insignificant sometimes, don’t they?  Thanks for saying it for us.

  • Beautifully said Amber!

  • Ditto to this 100% and this is so beautiful.

  • This is a beautiful remembrance .

  • Words that comes from a mother … beautifully written …

  • Yes, that’s how I’ve felt too. I look at my sweet babies and I feel grief for what they’ve lost. And hold mine tighter because I still can.

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents -  I also feel grief for what they lost. I felt it so strongly last month when a little boy at our local zoo fell into an exhibit and was mauled by wild dogs. I can’t imagine going to our zoo where we had been so many times and leaving without my baby. Now this. The magnitude of what happened is so great. So many families torn apart from their precious six year olds…

  • Yes. My heart has been grieving, and praying, and groaning with those families. Picturing my own at that age. It is our mommy hearts coming together during this time. Thanks for expressing it so well Amber.

  • Since it happened I’ve been slower inside, more mindful,….not as rushed….trying to soak my family in. 

    There is a police car parked outside each of our schools here.  Connecticut is heartbroken and in some ways very much on edge.  I think we are all looking forward to Christmas break.

  • you wrote this so well. what @quiet_hearts - said, thanks for saying it for us.
    “there WILL be a day”…thankyouJesus.

  • My wife has been brought to tears several times by reports of that day. I haven’t gotten there yet. I am still angry. I can’t imagine the selfish cowardice required to commit the act and I can’t begin to imagine the pain the parents must be experiencing. It was a crushing loss when we lost a pregnancy early on in our marriage, and I can only imagine how much worse it must be to hear only silence where the patter of small feet had been. To call out for your child because you saw something you think would interest them, only to realize that you’re calling out into empty space. This one’s going to take a while to process.
    Your pictures are a beautiful tribute.

  • Thank you. I also feel so heart-heavy. There just aren’t words for it.

  • Well said. Many of us share this.

  • Yes. Their grief is not lost on us. I  have cried so many tears over all this, because I have a kindergartener. I simply CANNOT imagine the grief!! Today, even with sick kids, it’s okay. Some things are getting done, but it’s okay. I have my beautiful precious children….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *