October 16, 2012

  • {dress up contest}

    okay. so you probably thought i forgot about this!!
    of course not! cough.cough.
    and if you’re going.. forgot what?
    well, see, that’s why we get along so well~
    i forget and you don’t remember that i did!! 

    like that little saying goes,
    “we’ll be friends till we’re old and senile.. then we’ll be new friends!”

    so let me refresh all of our memories here-
    there was this post, from a few months ago, where i kinda randomly thought up having a contest from this site.
    the rules were simple…
     
    you put an outfit together.
    submit to me.
    i put it up here.
    everyone votes on their favorite.

    easy! though not really, with trying to get all the right links to work, etc.
    obviously someone didn’t think that all the way through! which really, is so not like me! ;)

    but it was a lot of fun seeing what all came in!
    i love seeing how others put art together,
    and to me, fashion IS art!

    so, take your time and scroll through..
    then choose the one you like best and vote for it in the comments~
    also. feel free to discuss the outfits too. i like that part as well.
    for example, i want that girls hair in #26.
    and i really like the idea of shorts with heels and a fancy top,
    but not so sure i’d pull it off. or comfortable to do so..
    like there are certain looks certain people can just do {think lady gaga}, but maybe not for everyone!

    we’ll keep the contest open until friday noon. then i’ll tally up the votes and let ya know!
    the winner will receive a 35$ dollar gift card to their choice of marshall’s. h&m. or old navy~

    thanks to everyone who submitted outfits..
    they were coming from all directions it seemed and so if i missed getting yours in
    please let me know asap and i’ll stick it in the mix, k.

    an interesting side note..
    alot of the participants named their outfits something to do with date night.
    made me wonder if that’s because it’s maybe the only time alot of us really put much thought into what we look like?

    which i think is awesome we want to especially do that for our man!!
    gotta remind him what we look like outside of those sweat pants every now and then. ;)

    so here we go~ our first ever very unofficial official grace.to.be dress up contest 2012
    now go forth and vote my friends!!! 

    ****

    1. coffee date

    Coffee Date





    3. comfy and chic

    comfy and chic



    4. back to school

    Back To School



    5.touch of chiffon

    Untitled #1



    6. casual cute

    Casual & Cute


    7.fun and free

    fun and free



    8. vintage

    vintage


    9. weekend date night

    Casual Weekend


    10. purple and white – what a delight!

    Purple and White- what a delight

    11. pretty girl

    Pretty girl

    12. for only a short time

    for only a short time


    13.rainy days

    #3



    14. date night

    Date Night



    15. semi formal evening

    Semi-formal evening outfit



    16. pretty in yellow

    pretty in yellow


    17. retro vibe

    Untitled #2



    18. autumn on the lake

    Picture Perfect Fashion: Autumn on the Lake



    19. a day on the boardwalk

    A Day on the Boardwalk



    20. hailing a cab to somewhere important

    Hailing a cab to somewhere important.



    21. casual date night

    Date Night Casual


    22.classy

    classy


    23. fall casual

    Fall casual



    24. this the season

    tis the season

    25. fun and pretty

    fun & pretty



    26. date night in E

    Date Night in E


    27. stepping into fall

    Stepping into fall

    28. let’s meet for lunch when i’m in london

    Let's meet for lunch when I'm in London.


    ****


Comments (64)

  • i like 1 and 12 the best. all cool though!

  • I like #3- Comfy and Chic. So me!!! (sans the Chic part! Ha! )

    I really like the unicycle bag- I think it was in #4? And the cutesy skirt in #14 was too cute!! :)

    I could totally use the award money for the contest. So….GO ME! Ha! :)

  • Maybe I will be the first to vote!  This was SO fun!  I would definitely vote for #27 as my first pick. Love, love that outfit. Love the boots. Love the belt. Love the jewelry!!

    And then I also really like #3 (I don’t know if we are supposed to vote for more than one, but this is just commentary on a few others) and then I love the clothing in #16, but I just don’t wear the color yellow.  So if the color would be changed, I would totally wear that!  I also really like the classic-ness of #6, but I would wear it with a knee length black skirt instead of a long skirt. 

    Some of them were not my style, because I am not a ruffly or vintage-y sort of girl. But I know a lot of people are. I agree that fashion is a form of art. 

  • FELL IN LOVE WITH #23

  • @SpazzyMommy - yes! that bag is too cute!! i like the one in 15 and 7 too!! i’ll take them ALL!! please and thank you. haha~ ;)

  • @appalolly - i’m with you on yellow. shayne will say he likes it on me when i wear it – but i only like bright yellow, and in the summer w/ a tan! :) 27 totally looks like something you’d pull from your closet!

  • A guys perspective… 3! But I’d put the shoes from 27 with it, if they were in a lighter shade ;)

  • Okay… first of all. The outfits I LoVe and the outfits I could actually wear are in two totally different galaxies. But one can dream, right? SECOND… I love number 20, but if it is “casual” date night… boy, am I in trouble. I think our date would include a trip to the ER with those heels because I am a klutz! My FAV is #20… it looks comfy and would totally suit my everyday life style AND I love that it includes going somewhere important.

    P.S. I do love #21 because it includes a Starbucks and that is usually a part of my outfit

    Love all the creativity, Amber! Miss ya… Jode

  • This is too hard!! Really having a tough time narrowing it down to just one. I feel like I could almost guess who put together some of these outfits :)

    Alright. I’m voting for #20, darling outfit! Love the ruffle coat paired with the Captain America tee, classic and whimsical.

    Honorable mentions: #27 was a close second, the dress in #19 is perfect, really liked #28 too, loved the top in #7.

    Totally fun Amber!

  • Truthfully, I would happily wear any of the outfits in this post :) Wish my closet looked like this.

  • I love so many of them…I’ll pick #7

  • So hard to choose one……….. I do think 27 is my fave.  :)

  • So fun!! Such great outfits. I want them all in my closet too!
    I’ll be back later to vote… :)

  • And I’m just smiling at y’all ~ a fun time for your readers ~

  • I vote for 27 with 14 second place – I don’t wear yellow, but 27′s outfit looks well put-together. I would wear the outfit in 14, maybe with a scarf though – I like the purple color in 10, the dress in 4 looks comfy and I do really like that blue n green in 22 – I’ve been wearing grass green and royal, bright blue colors lately – maybe not very Fallish, but I don’t care ;) I can’t wear heels without getting a headache and my back hurting for days after, I can’t every decide on jewelry, so I don’t bother ;) Anymore, it seems there isn’t much rhyme or reason to putting outfits together except whatever you like and I think that makes it fun and so interesting!

  • SO SO FUN! to look at I will need to vote later. I can almost see *certain* people wearing some of these outfits. so it will be interesting to see who submitted them Like April said, I will take it all in my closet.

  • #3 hands down. I would SO wear that.

  • ok.
    this is HARD! i have no time now…
    be back to look closer!

  • Ever since you introduced me to polyvore, I’ve been slightly addicted. Actually taking a break from it this week – hope this doesn’t count as cheating! =) I recognized the skirt on #14 and the jacket on #27. I have both of those in my sets. #14 is definitely the most “me”. This was fun!

  • 3, 6 and 23 but I vote for 27

  • Hunter votes #3

  • To many good ones to decide. I like 25 alot and 26, and also 28. But I keep coming back to 20 so my vote stops there!

  • I want some of these for work!!! We don’t have to be super business proffessional but we can’t be too casual. Some of these are JUST right!
    The ones that really caught my eye: 1, 3 (LOVE the shoes!!!), 11, 12 ( if only I had enough time and will power to try stuff like that with my hair), 14, 16 (tho Id never pull off that shade of yellow), 17, 21, 22, 25 and 27.

    GREAT POST!!!

    Overall… my favorite is… um… but if I had to pick just one…. #1. I LOVE everything in there and the whole look of the outfit!

  • I’m going to have to go with #27…I’m loving the gold..and aqua is always a color I can fall for….#14 has a darling skirt…ahh, so many fun pieces! When can we go shopping ;) ? Love the shirt in #7 and the jacket in #12 is perfect!

  • I LOVE #13 and #23.

  • So fun and creative. I vote for #4. I just keep coming back to it. Very cute romantic yet casual.

    Extra mention to ….the following
    Love # 17 with the retro…though I need a longer top
    #18 Autumn on the Lake is such classic style!

    So fun Amber. I put together a couple weekend outfits on the site and had fun going over there, but never found time to pull everything together. I do think this is the right kind of big girl fun kind of like paper dolls, right?

  • My favorite is #27 but #20 is a close 2nd.  Both are beautiful, classy but comfy outfit combinations.

  • So my 15 year old was sitting next to me when I checked your blog, and when she saw the outfits, she hijacked the computer, and she and my wife oohed and aahed for twenty minutes while I sat computerless. This was a huge hit with them. I didn’t ask which one they liked best because I didn’t want to wait another half hour to get the computer back, but as I write this, she says she likes the one with the frills, if that means anything.

  • @lightnindan -  This comment made me laugh….the reason? You didn’t ask because you didn’t want to wait any longer for your computer! Haha. My husband would do the same thing. However, I would love to know how they vote. You need to share your computer. ;)

  • Hands down #20…and yes, even though I am 55 years young, I’d wear that t-shirt. My second choice is #28. The only thing I’d change is the shoes; mine would be flat red ones. The other outfits are great, too, but I’d have to tweak too many things, like no way am I going to wear heels THAT high or a too short skirt nor a too long skirt. And, if I’m going out for something special and I’m wearing a great dress and jewelry, I’d rather have a fancy bag than a casual one. But, that’s just me. This was fun!

  • #22. but what happened to #2?

  • all are very pretty, my favorites are 4 and 23. With 4 being the one i would want if being gifted with a whole new outfit

  • I am waffling between two but I think I will settle on #9. I have a thing for leather jackets ever since Top Gun! :)

  • ok. this is super hard because so many of these are just Awesome! but, my top two would be: 28 & 20. i’d like to go out and purchase 28 Rightthisveryminute!!!
    great contest Amber!
    best wishes, contestants!

  • I can see myself in #6 & #18.

  • #23 is my vote – I want to go find so many of these items! great idea, Amber!

  • So.much.pretty!  I could never decide which is best.  Love 28, 23, 7 and 3.   Among others.  I guess I’ll go with #28.  :)

  • @PJB - pete, only you would be brave enough to comment on fashion in a group of women.. love it!! :)

  • @Jodie - aw. lovelovelove that you commented!! so fun hearing from you. and you CRACK ME UP. i’m with ya on the “casual?” thing. ;) my standard must be really low! ha~ and i can totally see you in 20! you would rock it!! miss you too. xox

  • @inanorchard - totally agree! and i love the “honorable mentions” so many are giving.. makes me feel like i’m in a 4h competition at the fair!! :) )

  • @wj3km - you’re so right! there’s no rhyme or reason – anything goes. and it does take any pressure off of getting it right. ~green and bright blue are a great combo. i’m sure you look smashing in it my dear. :)

  • @christinasdavis - this is SO not cheating.. someone else has done all the work for you! ;) )

  • This is a great post! My pick is 28 though every outfit has something I like.

  • @bamsniko22407 - how fun you get to dress up everyday.. though i’m sure somedays it gets a bit tiring, right. always putting things together! i love the boots of 1 & 3 too. pretty much ANY boot i’m in love with. :)

  • @Izzysgal - let’s go shopping when you come up in november!! ;) and shopping for maternity stuff is even MORE fun!!! woo hooo~

  • @ABAHM - yes. number 4 is one of those that i kept coming back to also. i think i’d put some different shoes with it. love the clogs though.. their the thing that are adorable on everyone else, but i just feel like a total dork in them! but the sweet femininity of the dress – LOVE. and yes.. polyvore is just like playing paper dolls for grown ups. hee hee. ;)

  • @lightnindan - too funny!! and as Liz said, YES.. now we need to know what their choice was. it might be the determining vote. ;) )

  • @Richgem - so fun hearing everyone’s thoughts on the outfits.. i kinda like the commentaries more than the contest!! maybe we should just do a post where we discuss outfits. ;) and love when older women {not that you’re “old”, just old-er than me.. you know what i mean} but love when older women like being fashionable and sharp looking and don’t just think it doesn’t matter past a certain age, etc. you’d be adorable in 20!!

  • I like #6, #7, and #14…I would love to have these items in my closet.;) ok, 14 is my fave. But you just made me wanna go shopping…and I already had ‘shopping’ fever, now it’s even worse!;)

  • I love the hair in #26 too. I’m gonna have to try that sometime.
    So many fun outfits. For everyday in real life I’d wear something like 13 or 6 but as for picking a favorite, I can’t seem to choose just one so these are my favorites 14,19, or 25.

  • Number 1
    I adore everything about it (especially the boots and jacket) and would totally wear it out on a coffee date!

  • Ok..I’m voting instead of just stalking.
    Now…I want to vote for more than one, but I’m going to go with #1.
    I like the “madewell” feel it has to it.

  • @Elizabethmarie_1 - thank you for going w/ just ONE! ;)

    and it’s late and it’s probably a dumb question, but what does “madewell” mean?

  • Oh Amber! Let me introduce you…www.madewell.com
    Enjoy!

  • Funny – I like the hailing the cab one – that was clever! They were all gorgeous, so I had to pick the one with extra wit. :D

  • i like something in all of them… but to wear a full set i’m going with 21. great job everyone.

  • First of all I would like to send Kudos to all those that entered… How fun!! I tried… I did. I sat there and tried to put together an outfit and it was an EPIC fail. I gave up… So thank you for this inspiration…

    I have to pick the one that I thought… I would totally wear that…and that is #27… Turq. and Brown are a weakness I must admit.. I love it together…and love the yellow purse. It just worked. So if we get one vote that is it.

    However in my date night day dream…. I am wearing outfit #8 and on a fall picnic similar to what I just posted on pinterest. I am printing it and putting it in my journal. So can we get two votes?!

    I also fell for outfit #20 because it is so FUN. Who doesn’t want that ruffled jacket in their closet?… but then combining it with the Hero T- genius. Fun and flirty and I also loved the title…

  • @grace_to_be -  I see I’m a day late and a dollar short, but I was gone at work for two days, and just got back as the sun came up this morning. The wife is at work, but my 15 year old said her first choice was 20 and her second choice 9.

  • @lightnindan - aw. the down side is that vote might have made 20 tie for first. but the up side is i won’t have to buy two gift cards!! ;)

    we’ll do it again sometime soon, and that time.. give your wife and daughter the computer until their mind is made up and they can vote!!! haha. :) ))

  • #2, #6, #17 and #23….those are my top picks!!!!

  • these comments are as fun as the outfits! i had to keep scrolling back to see who liked what. i know that i’m too late for participating but still. :) if i could only vote for one outfit it would be…numbers 1… AND ;) 19.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *