December 12, 2012

  • {a little spray paint. hot glue. button bling. and light!}

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 310

    is it just me or is december flying.
    so much so that we just started our advent book yesterday!
     
    i don’t know why i thought it was only day 4 or 5..
    so imagine my shock when the kids said it was the 11th!

    but whether behind and trying to catch up.
    or racing and trying to keep it.
    the main thing i’m trying is, “let’s do this part slow.” ;)

    some of the in between parts though have had us getting our craft on round here~ 

    one of my favorite things to use are plain ole sticks!
    a little spray paint and ta-da.. you have a decoration.

    which i stopped just now and counted up in my mind how many places in the house i have sticks and branches as decor..
    i came up with nine! ten if you count the ones in the pots of greenery on either side of the front door outside.
    and eleven if you count the little pieces of some on the back of the upstairs toilet!
    ha. as i said. they’re favorites! ;)

    when my girlfriends and i went into the forest {as they call it here} to get some greenery..
    we found some great branches too.
    with some of the extras i bunched them all up. hung them upside down and put some snowflakes in.
    nothing mind blowingly creative…
    there was a version of something like this on pinterest my sis in law told me about, but i could never find the pic~
    just makes for a nice little filler of something in the corner.

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 172crafts.parties.goodtimes 272

    a few weeks ago emma and i saw these cute mushroom ornaments in a store~
    she wanted to buy one for her teacher…
    though i’m not sure what in the world mushrooms have to do with christmas other than being created by the Creator!
    so, instead of spending the 9.99 on the store bought one. we made a few ourselves.
    all i bought was the styrofoam eggs. cut them in half. covered them with an old sweater i cut up and glued them on a spool of thread wrapped in yarn.

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 176

    the first sweater i tried to use. the one in the picture. was way too thin.
    they ended up looking more like lightbulbs!
    you need a thicker sweater to give a nice plump look. :)
    though they still look slightly like lightbulbs really. 
    but emma was pleased and wants to give them both to her teacher.

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 110
    crafts.parties.goodtimes 148

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 275

    then. we always seem to have a gazillion buttons everywhere from various other projects and such i guess..
    so when gluing the buttons on top of the mushrooms i was trying to think of what else we could do to get rid of a few more.

    i wanted to do a popcicle snowflake and maybe glue some on..
    but we didn’t have any popcicle sticks.
    so i just took one of the snowflakes i did have..
    like the pack of 4 you buy from the dollar store and we blinged it up, button style!

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 466crafts.parties.goodtimes 479

    back in the summer i found this light at a garage sale.
    the lady was asking 8, i told her i’d give her 5. sold!
    i had been looking for a light for my bedroom and it wasn’t exactly what i wanted.
    BUT. one thing was the reason i bought it…

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 304

    our old church had chandeliers that looked exactly like this. only gold.
    and i remember every christmas looking up at them and thinking how wonderful it would be to drape greenery from each.
    so, yes. i bought this light totally with christmas in mind~

    only, a few weeks ago i decided i’d rather replace the hideous green ceiling fan {that matched the hideous green counter tops} over the kitchen table instead~
    i’m happy with the results…
    though anything is an improvement over a 1970′s marbled green ceiling fan!!

    crafts.parties.goodtimes 096crafts.parties.goodtimes 320

    i’m thinking of leaving our christmas decorations up till spring!
    i love the coziness it brings to the house..
    and with all my sticks, the whole nature theme fits right in! ;)

    what have you been working on this week?
    if there’s a fun project or great recipe post it in the comments if you want to share…
    or invite us over to your blog to have a look!
    we’ll swing by and say, hi. so go get your hair combed!.

    inspiration is like christmas lights .. there’s no such thing as too much!!! ~

    puttingupthetree 137

Comments (37)

  • Beautiful!! I love all of it! :)

  • I love that light! And the sticks!

  • Oh I’ve made gingersnaps twice in the last week.

  • The little mushrooms are so cute. I’ll have to try your button snowflakes. They look easy enough for even me. You’re right……..December is flying!

  • why yes, i do believe I’ll stop by. I love what you did. well, i just love your style, period. What you do and how you make inexpensive/free look so good.
    Happy Christmas season!

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - TWICE in one week!! they must be good… uh, recipe?? or make some more tomorrow and post about it~ :) )

  • Love your light. and I too love a nature theme. I don’t have white sticks (which look pretty btw), I get a little carried away with pinecones. =/
    I really like the button ornament, how adorable.
    and..I shipped the package out yesterday. So it should be there in the next couple of days. I got a little nervous and insured it too, just in case. :)

    Happy Wednesday!!!

  • That greenery in the light is beautiful.  So beautiful. 

  • BEAUTIFUL, amber! i LOVE when you show us your crafts…and your decorated house! i love it all! the white branches. the chandelier, the button snowflake, the sweater mushroom. i’d love to sit at your dining room table…..surrounded by all your windows. <3

  • I’d prefer that you just hop on a plane and fly out here and come decorate my house, like, for the whole year! We have trees! ( 8 I love the snowflakes with buttons!!! Those mushrooms are pretty cute, too! I haven’t done a thing except decorate the big tree and the little tree. BORing!!!

  • I’m going to pin your blog post to pinterest lady!!! It’s that brilliant! I love it. And I am leaving your page open on my desktop so I can listen to the awesome music selection on your background….

  • love the decor! I think it helps to have little girls around to be creative with :) Cute Mushrooms! All my little girls I used to babysit are all grown up and don’t need me any more and it seems like the season for little boys for me which are fun too they just aren’t as crafty-though I do have one I babysit that is. He thinks up all kinds of creative things like making an acorn christmas tree…it was cute! :)
    I haven’t been overly crafty lately at home, more like helping decorate the house in between editing pictures.
    Someday soon I shall brush my hair and take and post some pics of the house and that upside down christmas tree :)
    Yeah, love having the christmas lights on at night this time of year and I don’t think you can have too many lights.

  • oh my, i love it all. just brilliant creativity you are blessed with. the button snowflake is super cute and my kids would enjoy making those.

    i have used some sticks this year too but instead of the spray paint i used the snow spray and love how that looks too. putting it on nice and thick at places makes it look pretty real.

    i’m working on a christmas post… you are welcome to visit in your favorite pj’s and messy hair. :)

  • @chulya - i’d love to have you sitting at my table too friend. xox

  • @Richgem - hey.. decorating a big and little tree isn’t boring! that’s pretty important stuff at christmas time – THE TREE!!!! :) )

  • @redladybug18 - /YES! i want to see that tree…

  • @singingrachel - oh.. snow spray sounds even cooler! and i’ll be watching for that post.. i’d fit the dress code right now though! :) )

  • Oh love!! All of your stuff is just ‘far out’!
    I’m with you on the fact that December if flying by so so fast. Yes, let’s “do this part slow”. Love.

    Today I made glue. Elyse wondered if I found it on “pinterest”. Yes, mam. We are in the process of making large yarn balls (glue drenched yarn wrapped around balloons). . . with the intent that they become centerpieces for our Byler Family Christmas party this coming Sunday. My camera is on the blink (lens quit), and YAY, there’s a new one on the way!! So, as soon as I can get that baby figured out, I’ll take some pictures, and well, just maybe get a post done again one of these days??

    Merry Christmas!!

  • Oh, I think the branches and snowflakes are so pretty. I even had some snowflakes in my cart at the $ store and put them back because I wasn’t sure what I would do with them. I see I needed some sticks and paint Having downsized and having been married 34 years, I have too many decorations, so in between things I am trying to decide what to put up and send the rest back to the garage. I have been slowly doing one area at a time…and have a lot left to do! My big project is getting the grandbabies Christmas stockings cross stiched and sewn…don’t know how or when but I am going to try! Totally with you on the chandelier and greenery! I love greenery at Christmas and miss my valences that I used to put greens on. The mushrooms are adorable. Don’t know what it is about mushrooms, but I just think they are cute!

  • You are so creative!

  • I can almost smell the greenery ~ very lovely ~

  • @grace_to_be - 
    I ran out of ginger with the last batch but I’m going to get some more and I’ll do a picture post with recipes. The kids have eaten them ALL! I also did not think I liked gingersnaps until I made them myself one year for Steven and I realized they are way better when you make them than when you buy them. Turns out I kind of love them. ha!

  • The painted sticks are my favorite.  Do you have to sand them first?  Or wipe them down?  Can they have bark on them?  How did you hang them from the ceiling like that?

    Hop on over to my blog for a fabulous ornament you can make with an empty paper towel tube!  

  • oh i just love this. beautiful! and what have i been working on this week? haha. well. spray painting branches and hanging snowflakes. seriously. both are everywhere. it seems that when i like something…AND i can get lots for FREE or from the dollar store…i do it in abundance. :) love you.

  • Wow … very impressive! You are very good at such things. Your hands are meant to create!
    Those are beautiful! Awesome handicrafts!

  • Your hanging white sticks with the snow flakes, awesome, so whimsical!

  • Lots of great ideas! I particularly like those button snowflakes…they are so pretty!

  • My December is a bit schitzophrenic – the time until Pamela, Will, and Chloe Grace get here seems to be DRAGGING!!  Yet the days seem to fly when I realize I only have a little bit of time left in which to buy Christmas gifts, prepare for the Christmas program, sew for my grandbabies…

    I love the branches and snowflakes – I might have to go find some branches ASAP! And because Bill Petty could not let a clearance on canned snow go by last year, I have a CASE of the stuff with which to “paint” them!!

    I also kind of covet your chandelier, but not only is that a sin, I also don’t have any place to hang one!  So I will greatly enjoy seeing pics of yours!!

    Hope your holiday season is BLESSED!!

  • @clearlyhis - oh, i’d love to see a pic of those! and your entire party too.. you’re so talented with putting all those special touches together~

  • @down_onthefarm - great minds. ;) ) love you back~

  • @purpleamethyst76 - nope. no sanding or even wiping them off. and yes, i leave the bark on. just grab some sticks and cover em in spray paint!! i wouldn’t do anything that was complicated. ha! ;) ) then i just tied some extra christmas ribbon around them and put the ends as close to the ceiling as they would go – securing it into the ceiling w/ a thumb tack.. i used a snowflake at the top to hide the ribbon. ~putting some painted branches in a tall vase w/ little ornaments hanging on them is cute too!! :) ) and gonna swing over to your blog now and see what you’ve been creating. see ya in a bit… ;) )

  • ok..you need your own spread in the Martha Stewart Magazine! Soooo pretty and creative! Inspiring ideas…thank you for sharing!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  • Oh, it’s just beautiful!! The mushrooms are absolutely darling!! And the button snowflakes!! And your branches… I love them, and smile, because I love to bring in the outdoors too. There is something so incredibly beautiful about that simple elegance! And I wish you’d live close and you could come help me decorate my house. I just can’t seem to really rolling with it this year. I still have two weeks, though, right?! :) xoxo

  • That button ornament is very pretty! Now I wish I had saved all the buttons over time

  • The mushrooms are adorable!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *