February 1, 2013

  • {hello february}

    month of love~ 065

    i thought with valentines day coming up it would be fun to post some sort of “loVe picture” every friday for the month~

    wanna join?

    all you have to do is take a picture each week of something you love then post it on friday!
    easy peasy like strawberry pie. :)

    aNd.. i might occasionally ask some random question about love for you to answer as well.

    like this one:: where did you and your spouse first met?
    and bonus question – do you remember what they were wearing?


    haPpy super bowl weekend friends!!
    i’ve no idea who’s playing.. i’m really just there for the food! ;)

    amber.

Comments (47)

  • mmmm yummy strawberry pie…..now I want some strawberry pie!! sweet picture and fun idea. where did my spouse and i meet – at my parents home…..it was an arranged marriage and he was visiting us with some of his family….and…..we met, liked each other and now 10 years later…..living out our happily ever after :)

  • Strawberry pie is that easy to make?! Awesome.  A fun idea, indeed. And the picture is just adorable!

    As for the superbowl, true: the food is definitely worth it. =)

  • I would love a strawberry pie!  Shaped like a heart? 

    Well, I already do a “this moment” post every Friday so I may as well make it a lovin’ picture. 

    Rich and I met in High School and I’m sure he was wearing jeans and a T-shirt.

  • Adorable picture of you guys!
    Love me some February and valentines day!
    Jeremy and I met at church and he decided then and there that he wanted to marry me. It took me a while to come around to the same conclusion, but so glad I finally saw the light!:) Happily married for 7.5 years now! Happy weekend to you!

  • We met at the front door of a church in Seal Beach, Calif. I have no idea what either of us was wearing. After all, that was almost 55 years ago!

  • I love that picture of you guys! How sweet!

    We met when Steven gave my then boyfriend a 3 hour ride to visit me because his truck was broken or something. I have no idea what he was wearing, I didn’t pay him much attention that day . . Oh wait, he had a trench coat on! (who wears those?)

  • I dont remember….. at a youth gathering i am sure. He was my cousins driver so they were always together. I know what he wore on our first date ;) .

  • such a happy fun intensity i see in your pic! love it. it’s a great thing to be soulmates with your roommate. :)

    and what a great idea! sticking it in the part of my brain that remembers things… if i can find a part like that!

    we met at church the first time…not sure what he was wearing then. but on our first date a few years later we looked like the bobbsey twins. we were both in khaki colors, all matchy matchy which of course was NOT at all planned. so dorky. and funny.

  • @isylvi - you could say it was love at first sight then! :) so romantic. generally it seems people would have a bit of negativity towards arranged marriages but i love that your story puts it all in a positive light. very cool~

  • @nov_way - well, the way i make it. slice some strawberries. sprinkle on some sugar. throw em in a baked pie shell. whipped cream on top. and wa-la – strawberry pie!!! ;) ) i’m sure there’s a more complicated way too! haha

  • I met my husband when I visited a new school in 8th grade and sat in on their literature class. He was wearing a blue shirt that matched his eyes and my heart said, “Ohhhhhhh!” The rest is history. We’ve been married for almost 35 years….five great kids and 9 grandchildren. God is good!

  • We met at church.
    I was 14. He was 17.
    Eight months later, we were “going steady”.
    Four years after that, we married.
    I was 19. He was 22.
    40+ years, five kids, 10 grandkids later…still together.
    God is good!

  • @Suzyquekau - @fourfiftythree -  35 and 40+ years is AWESOME!! i love hearing those numbers.. especially in a society where they’re so rare. love too that you both ended your comment with God is good!! He’s the glue that holds us together, AMEN!!!

  • @Suzyquekau - @Suzy: How funny that we said similar things. I did not read your comment before posting mine. :D Blessings on you for another 35 years!!!!

  •  Thank you for the recipe =D

  • This is a great idea, I would love to do this. My husband and I met at Boston Pizza. I was a hostess while in high school and he was a server.

  • How fun. Love the picture of you two.
    Maybe I’ll put fashion tips on hold until March. ;)

    First saw Jeff in the hallway on my way to gym class.
    He was wearing a white shirt with a blue “Structure” {remember that store?!?!} vest.
    I was wearing a plaid skirt and black shirt. It was a week after Valentines Day.

    Happy Weekend to you.
    XxOo

  • Cute idea! I met my husband my freashman year of college. He was a senior but his family lived locally so when he graduated he was still close by. I can’t recall exactly what he had on but I know it was kahaki pants and polo shirt because that was mostly all he wore then. I have had to work on his wardrobe through the years! :)

  • @grace_to_be -  He IS the glue because trust me, there were times I wanted to run out the lane real fast and never look back. But when I promised “for better or for worse” I meant it. God has been so gracious to me, how can I not lend that grace to another?!

  • You two are so cute!
    I met my husband in college. I went over to his fraternity house with a girlfriend to borrow their table rounds for some event we were putting on. Bob came bouncing down the stairs and gave me his big smile,and looked at me with his twinkling eyes. I think he was wearing cord pants and a long sleeve shirt. We have been married for 34 years. He was a “server/dishwasher” at the house of girls I lived in during college. He got a free dinner in exchange. We went out for ice cream for our first date.

  • Great idea and super cute picture of y’all!

  • cute picture of yall!
    my husband and i met working on a ranch together in colorado. worked together for a year… then we got engaged and 6 weeks later married =)

  • I was friends w/ his sisters and he was just their little annoying brother….at age 17, he was certain that I was the one…but it took 2 years until he asked me out and then he was expecting a no….now here we are, married 12+ years and I’ve never regretted it, not once!

  • Fun! The first time I laid eyes on my husband I was 17 he was 18.  I was waiting for my then boyfriend to pick me up at my apartment, as a bunch of us were headed to his parent’s cottage, he didn’t have enough room in his car and unbeknownest to me decided to send his buddy (my now husband) to pick me up on his motorcycle (bad idea) that was 34yrs ago…hubby and I have been together ever since, we’ll be celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary come July. He was wearing cut off jean shorts and a t-shirt.

  • oh my GOODNESS, that picture is ADORABLE!!
    [yes, i'm gushing, please forgive me!]
    the picture and quote together – just wow. :)
    you are just too lovely, amber!

    i don’t remember the first time i saw ben, but i remember the first time i noticed him. he was wearing a blue striped sweater which made his eyes absolutely stunning. :) he says the first time he saw me he thought, “oh wow, this could be interesting!” :) funny, those first moments!

  • sweet idea.
    Hubby and I met in computer class, first day of college. I was wearing a jean skirt and shirt and he was wearing shorts and a tshirt. :)

  • We were both working at the same place, and unknown to me he was interested in me for over a year before finally asking me out. Glad he finally did! It’s been 7 years of happiness together.

  • What a fun game! We met at church. He was preaching, I was listening. He says that I was the only one in the congregation not wearing a blank look when hearing his Scottish accent and British illustrations!

    It will be 17 years for us this year.

  • Oh, and he was wearing a suit.

  • Well, we’re not married {yet}….but I wanna play too! :)

    I first met Mistah Boyscout at church. He was wearing an ugly belt that let me know for certain he was single. LOL. :)

    I remember what I was wearing, only because, he was a complete stranger and complimented me on it….a turquoise blue blouse with black skirt and black boots. He still likes when I wear that. :)

  • Cute:) we met while visiting family…. He was the brother of who we were visiting. Nothing happened for years:) he was wearing khaki pants I think , don’t remember the shirt:)

  • Super cute and what a great quote! Love this idea now to do it :)

  • I first met my husband at university. He was teasing a girl, and I thought he was a jerk! Just goes to show you, God has a sense of humor. I sure don’t remember what he was wearing, but it was over 40 years ago.

  • Your picture is beyond-words beautiful and precious! I have been setting my heart on a photo shoot with my man one day soon . . . seems we have so many from the dating year and the first years of marriage, and a few stragglers as we’ve gotten busy with children and life! A new, updated look would be nice. :) I’m not sure what he was wearing the first time I met him, but I distinctly remember a blue shirt and a plaid shirt I saw on him in the first few days of meeting . . . I *loved* the blue because of what it did to his eyes . . . and didn’t care so much for the plaid. Ha! He tried his best to get to know me without being too obvious and I tried to avoid him . . . Thankfully we had mutual friends which allowed us to get to know each other a little in a “natural” way. But he was pretty determined, so I’m sure he would’ve done fine even without them. :) Oh those were the {nervous, exciting} days! :)

  • We met at an event for the CA branch of the Mile High Singles Adventure club at a bar/nightclub….he was wearing black knit muscle shirt/blue jeans/black loafers…me–who knows but I am sure it was big hair and high heals and some sort of short skirt that showed off my legs….ugghhh, praise the Lord for saving my soul years later. He was dating a friend of mine in the club, they broke up. We started going to the gym, and then a couple months later we started dating on the eve of an 80′s retro party, me wearing a hot pink sweatshirt that said 1985 scrawled across it in huge numbers and a mini skirt. Married within two years and saved a year and a half later. Married for 12 years this May.

    GO RAVENS!!!!!! Have to represent the East Coast here in SC…. I have a wager with my Sister in CA…the 49er fan of course….that if the Ravens lose, I have to make and wear a sign, that states my sister was right and that the 49ers are the best team and go stand in a public place for all to see….Of course, she will have to do the same in CA if the 49ers loose.

  • I love y’alls pic, too!  You’re both adorable!!!  Bill and I met at church.  He was visiting with his brother and sis-in-law, and I was singing in the choir.  The first time he visited, he saw me but I didn’t see him.  He says I was the only one in the choir smiling.  I think he was in love right away, but we actually met the next Sunday.  I shared my Bible with him in Sunday School, then he was gloriously saved in the evening service.  When he walked the aisle to talk with the pastor, my Mama leaned over to me and whispered, “Wouldn’t it be wonderful if God was saving him just for YOU??” Well, after church Bill asked me out for the next weekend, drove me home so he would know where I lived, then took me out on our first date in his Daddy’s ’66 ‘Stang!  We were married 9 months later!

    The first time we met, I’m pretty sure he was wearing brown slacks and a brown print western shirt.  I eased that shirt out of his wardrobe very quickly after we married!

  • Amber, I can’t find your email, but I wanted to share with you that I linked your blog in my post today. You are always such an inspiration to me! http://organicaspirations.blogspot.com/2013/02/good-job-mom.html

  • Love the picture Your face is priceless.

    We have 3 stories – Met and didn’t know each other – Met briefly – and then met and was interested… Probably first met each other on a country road when we were kids (remember always watching their church hay ride go by – we lived 5 minutes apart but went to different schools due to county lines) Met briefly later, middle school, he drove my bf and me to a dance (I was dating another guy) and I remember he was late. The real meeting was later, high school, and he stopped by before the game. I was in my Pom-Pom uniform but I don’t remember what he was wearing. He was my guy best friend for a few years before we started dating.

  • you guys are darling, super cute picture.
    we met in a bible class – i was actually unimpressed with him because every other girl seemed to be totally impressed with him …. he worked really hard at convincing me otherwise & i eventually came around ; )
    and kate having a real job …. aww
    happy tuesday – xo

  • The very first time Kent and I remember seeing each other was when he was letting the cows across the road into the pasture. I remember specifically he had on a green t-shirt and jeans. I Thor he was so good-looking and had no idea he noticed me driving by. It wasn’t until several years later that we met….and later talked about that time. That’s when I found out that he had noticed me and wondered who I was and where I lived. Ahhhh….love those warm memories!!!!

  • What a fun idea-I like reading everyone’s comments.

  • @Organic Aspirations - thanks so much, girl! {{xo}} my email is hutchbox.amber@gmail.com :) )

  • These articles and blogs are truly enough for me for a day.
    Love Quote’s

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *