Month: May 2013

  • {what if i did what i could}

    “Jesus was in Bethany at the home of Simon, a man who previously had leprosy. While eating, a woman came in with a beautiful alabaster jar of expensive perfume. She broke open the jar and poured the perfume over his head. But some of those at the table were indignant, “Why waste such expensive perfume?” they asked. But Jesus replied, “Leave her alone. She did what she could…” Mark 14:3-9

    the woman in this story acted with what she had. and she acted where she was!

    may things 250

    “What if I took stock of my offerings and humbly but realistically grabbed hold of what I could do- and did it, without holding back? Even if it made little sense to those around me but all the sense in the world to God? How could I wholeheartedly let God love me and love Him back, if I did what I could?

    What if I acted with what I have? What if I did what I could by giving what I think I can’t live without? Could I live without another pair of shoes? Could I make out a check for the same amount as my mortgage this month and invest in a school in India? I wonder…

    Sometimes acting with what we have means we spend money. Other times we invest less tangible assets, such as love, time, or energy.”

    this is an excerpt from the book, She Did What She Could.
    i’ve read it before, a year or so ago. but reading it again i find it’s challenging me in ways that didn’t strike me the first time through. and i find myself asking…

    what if I acted where I was, with what I already have?
    what does that look like in my life?

    may things 202may things 038
    may things 180may things 117

    often we put off what we could do because we think we need more before we can give.
    more money. more time. more spirituality. more getting it together –
    wondering what in the world we have to offer. feeling talentless. useless. timid.

    instead of doing what we can, we do nothing at all.

    i love Jesus’ response to the naysayers, it speaks right to my feelings of inadequacy too - 
    “leave her alone. she did what she could…”

    in other words, “let her bring what she has. let her do what she can. let her give, whatever that is.”

    and i hear my heart asking, what alabaster boxes do i have to give? right now. today.

    not waiting until i have more. worrying it’s not good enough. wondering what others might think.

    “stop the self editing and just do.”

    how might others see the gospel – see Jesus- if i did what i could?

    may things 088

    may things 227

  • {the baby}

    allfour

    she’s the one that’s always with me, right by my side.
    i don’t remember the others like this.
    maybe it’s because they had each other.
    or because i was homeschooling and they were always around.
    maybe because mamaw lived close and the kids went there often.
    now. it’s her and i. most days. just the two of us hanging.
    running around. sometimes meeting a friend for coffee or flying solo to the beach.

    she’s the most attached to me and yet the most independent. scared of hardly anything –
    except lawn mowers and automatic toilets in public restrooms.
    she’s stubborn and knows what she wants. right down to whether her underwear feel too tight or too big!
    it’s been quite the ordeal. finding underwear that meet her approval.
    i’m wondering if God’s preparing her to marry a french guy, where clothing is optional in parts of that country. ;)

    the same intensity she has about things like comfortable underwear though is  the same intensity by which she loves. all or nothing!
    throwing her arms around your neck near strangling you with her hugs.
    or my favorite of the moment – when we take a picture together, reaching up to touch my cheek with her hand and pull my face in closer.

    i’ll say, “i love my baby.”
    she replies. “i love my mommy.”


    mothersday2013

    i get asked fairly often. “is she the baby? are you done?”
    some days. when she’s refused to go to bed the night before and up the next morning before 7..
    when she’s squeezed shampoo all over her sisters bed or dumped the entire contents of fish food in the fish bowl -
    in those times my answer is yes! yes she’s the baby. and, oh man, i’m so done!

    but all the other times and most days my answer will be, “maybe. we don’t know.. we’d like another.”

    to which people either say i’m really brave or really crazy. ;)

    the thing is as i close out my last year of thirties and approach forty i’m not sure what “another” actually looks like for us..

    all i know is i want my hands open. my heart even more. and my selfishness to not cause me to miss out on a part of the story God might have for our lives.

    sometimes i wonder if the real answer to the abortion crisis in north america isn’t more picket lines or phone calls to congressmen, but a greater love for kids. starting with our own. and the ones God would want to bring into our lives in whatever way that might be ~ through fostering. adoption. helping out a young mom with her hands full. welcoming school friends the kids bring home, or the neighborhood kids right around us. and since this kind of heart change doesn’t stand still, maybe even the “big kids” too – like that grumpy man down the road you know lives all alone!

    viewing kids {viewing people} as the blessing they are and not an inconvenience to be tolerated.
    that we just put in our time then brush our hands off, glad that’s behind us.

    coming to a place as christians – as the church – as the body of Christ of putting hands and feet to our words. applying real life practicality to the fancy sounding sermons on loving others where it’s so easy to nod our heads in agreement, even give a hearty amen, but walk away and do nothing!

    106

    110

    102

    i think one of the greatest ministries an older lady, whose nest is now empty, could have would be to the moms around her still with kids at home – to take little ones for an afternoon so mom could run errands alone. with older ones, passing on skills like cooking, sewing, gardening.. lost arts that no one seems to be learning anymore. or simply the enormous wisdom you have to offer from your life experiences. wow! the investment and treasure of women like this. and i’m not writing that here to give anyone a guilt trip – but for myself to hopefully come back and read and do!

    {dear self: be that older lady to young moms someday!}

    there are certainly times i cannot wait for the empty nest days to come. when i’m exhausted and maxed out.
    when i look wistfully around at my girlfriends who have only teens now and no young ones to chase and i think of the peace and quiet i might be having. 
    but this area of kids. which really spills over into something so much bigger than whether or not i ever have anymore, has been quite the journey for me. one that’s far from over.

    i think it’s a journey that looks different for every family. for every women.
    for me, a huge {HUGE} part of it has been letting go of selfishness. a constant process.
    and not allowing the opinions of others or society to dictate what only God has the right to lead us in. 

    i often think of that story in the Bible where the children came and wanted to be near Jesus and the disciples were shooing them away.
    how many times in my own life has that been my attitude. that i was too busy with something more important to make time for what seemed “insignificant.”
    but the Lord shows us by His example that loving the least of these-
    the marginalized. the unwanted. the seemingly insignificant. this is the most important work!

    and always has been.

    it’s not limited to age or how many kids we have but at the end of the day, whether that means  swinging wide our front doors or heart doors, it’s simply a willingness to be available. open. welcoming those God brings into our lives, in whatever way He does that, and loving without
    partiality or prejudice because it’s how He loved. and if we’re His, it’s how we should love too!
     


    ihearthismonth 246ihearthismonth 027

    Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no commandment greater than these.”

    Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these, you did for me.”

    emma and i have been working on psalm 23 and reese picked up some of the verses..
    here’s her version of it. and you might want to pause the music at the bottom before you listen.
    i especially like how she says, “righteousness.” :)

    amber.

  • {what’s holding us together}

    the other night i couldn’t sleep.
    i just felt a heavy heart over several things.
     
    from somewhere way back it’s like the ending of this message i had first heard years ago in the hills of tennesse came to mind…
    so i got up and went to google it.
    i didn’t want to watch the entire thing, only the end. and i found it! 

    the words were exactly what i needed to hear.
    and i thought i’d share because, maybe i’m not the only one.

    “we will never not be carried by the strong hand of a universe making God and He will bring us through…” 

  • {remind me}

    firstdayatbeach~ 260firstdayatbeach~ 624
    firstdayatbeach~ 523firstdayatbeach~ 456

    sitting here in the living room enjoying a little quiet as reese naps.
    windows are open, curtains blowing up in the breeze.
    love when they do that and i grabbed my camera to take some pictures.
    there’s just something so magical about the wind~

    i’m sipping on a coffee that’s loaded with vanilla creamer..
    which is about the only way i drink coffee, all nice and khaki colored.
    i’m sure all the real coffee drinkers out there are just shaking their head at me! sorry guys.

    this week has seemed to equal two. i think i’ve thought it was friday since tuesday.

    tuesday night at youth i kept asking people how their week had been, as if it was already over.
    they’d look at me a little confused and i didn’t even catch on till someone said, “well, it’s barely just started…”

    oh.
    really?

    i’ve had this nasty flu/ cold thing that’s been going around, so that might explain thee {extra} fogginess.  ;)
    and i just saw i wrote thee instead of the, so apparently it makes ye talk with an irish accent too!

    i hate colds. anytime really, but especially when the weather is warm. it feels like such a rip off.
    i don’t want to be inside blowing my nose. i want to be out. or atleast up and about and doing what i need to. ..
    with yes, the curtains blowing up wildly in the breeze through the window!
     
    but no matter how i pushed myself this week everything seemed to move in slow motion.
    and by everything, i mean e v e r y t h i n g !

    i was positive at one point i really had been cleaning the little size two fingerprints off the patio doors for atleast six hours..
    only to realize it’s just the same thing i do every day.
    same spot.
    same routine.
    same little hands.

    may days~ 191may days~ 326
    may days~ 339may days~ 278

    i found myself kinda chuckling at one point.. thinking of how everyone tells mom’s with little ones that someday they’ll miss these days of messes to clean up. sitting in a house with everything clean and pristine and not a thing to do {sounds rather inviting, eh?} :) but i thought at this rate.. by the time i get to that someday of missing these days i won’t be able to see out a window at all! i’ll be too old and probably half blind so it won’t matter in the least if they’re clean or dirty!!

    but for right now, when you’re still so much in the middle of it all that someday can seem like forever away, can’t it?

    i look at my older two and you’d think i should know. i mean, i do.
    in those moments of quiet reflection all by myself i realize it.

    then all four descend on me and so many needs and things to do and places to be and i feel pulled in a thousand directions and yeah, i forget what i was just remembering maybe seconds before.

    selfishness is funny that way-
    it never really reveals itself until something’s knocking into the territory of what we want or expect.
    i can be the most selfless, serving mom in the world when i’m all alone- haha!
    but add the kids and a little everyday tiredness and craziness and it shows in a hurry what’s in my heart.
    and i can tell you right now – it’s not always pretty!

    it doesn’t matter what i think i am it’s how i react when life gets stressful that reveals what i really am!


    may days~ 265


    may days~ 407

    last night was one of those nights when i felt the ugly creeping out.
    it was all going along fine.. and then, bam!

    suddenly everyone’s texting and asking and running in and out and the door is slamming and kate needed picked up from soccer like 20 minutes ago because her dad, that had planned to get her ended up working later than he thought. and ben is begging me to take him to the skatepark with his friends because heaven forbid they’d just skateboard down the road like normal people. no. you see on the street there isn’t any stairs to gap or rails to shred. {aren’t you impressed with my skater talk?} and sweet emma just wanted to go to the book fair at her school that of course, was right during when kate needed picked up and ben wanted dropped off. and reese was in the fridge eating every slice of american cheese. through the wrapper!! and the left side of my upper cheek beneath my eye felt ready to explode right out my face and i really just wanted to go to my room and sleep, for like a week! actually.. i really wanted to board a jet plane to someplace tropical and remote… where i was untraceable. untextable. uncallable. unwhinable. unmomable. ;) )

    and even more so when i finally dropped ben off later and he said i had to come sign some papers.

    “um.. you didn’t say anything about me having to get out of the van, bud!”

    “but they won’t let me skate if you don’t.”

    “do you see what i’m wearing? this isn’t public safety approved!”

    and he just stared at me blankly cause he’s a guy and of course, doesn’t get it.

    “please, mom.”

    i stared back. then, sniffed my runny nose hard, that at this point i so desperately needed to blow {but not a napkin to be found in the entire van}. i shook my head and let out a long sigh. turning the van off and climbing out, tugging at my clothes as i did…

    i was wearing leggings with a shirt that didn’t quite cover my bum.
    and yes! i know, i know {liz!!!} that leggings are not pants!
    i hate it too when girls wear them like they are.
    but i hate even more when almost 40 something year old’s that don’t have rear ends that look anything like that of the younger girls wearing them wear them!

    i tried the best i could to keep my back to the wall.
    i’m pretty sure the people there are still puzzled at the strange mom that creeping along the wall like some burglar as she came in and out.
    oh my word!

    back in the van i lowered my mirror and looked at my cheese faced two year old.

    “you kids have no idea all i do for you.”

    to which she only responded, “we det ice tream now?” 


    easter weekend~2013 499bw

    finally. when everyone was back home and safely deposited in their beds and i’d had a chance to blow my nose and change my leggings and was once again the selfless mom, all alone! ;) i thought back over my attitude to my kids that night… this whole, “you’ve no idea all i do for you.” and i realized how when i hold on to that perspective it just causes me to plummet instantly and feel only frustration and disappointment in my kids because they’re not giving back something i’m expecting. which, when i don’t let it go can so quickly lead to resentment. even bitterness.  not that i would say i’m “expecting” anything. but that’s the thing. i don’t have to SAY it. my responses are dead giveaways to where my motives are coming from – a heart that is being tender and teachable or a heart that is anchored in self pity and pride over all i’ve given up and do for my kids, even my husband {because i can have the same attitudes towards him}.

    and when i have these times of processing, it’s easy for me to get the part that selfishness and genuine love cannot live together in the same heart. one always suffocates out the other~ all i have to do is look no further than my own life for plenty of examples of that! but, sometimes i still try to combine the two. thinking i can love through my selfishness and own efforts, which becomes alot like trying to squeeze into last summer’s shorts after the winter’s extra pounds.. there’s no way except by force. and who wants a forced, phony love?

    Remember, it is not your weakness that will get in the way of God’s working through you, but your delusions of strength. His strength is made perfect in our weakness! Point to His strength by being willing to admit your weakness.” paul tripp

    delusions of strength. how that part jumped out at me!


    easter weekend~2013 478bw

    easter weekend~2013 535bw

    so my conclusion is always, ” then how, Lord?” how do i mother these kids with Your strength?  with a love that is for them and not me. not rooted in selfishness. how do i have a sincere servant’s heart.. how do i get to that place? because it’s certainly not just naturally there!

    and i’m not really sure the answer exactly. like 30 days to becoming a better mother kind of formula.
    i wish it only took 30 days.
    but it takes a lifetime. and i think that’s supposed to be the point –
    always learning. growing. realizing our need for something beyond ourselves. for Someone!
    and i’m grateful He never gives up on me and continues to show me every day what i lack and ways to do better.

    and then, this…
    just a prayer that i pray often. simply, “God remind me.”

    when the chocolate milk spills and is running all over the table like a fountain onto the floor – remind me.
    when toddlers have climbed in the fridge and are eating through cheese wrappers- remind me.
    when teens have attitudes and i feel anything but a soft answer wanting to come out – remind me.
    when i clean the fingerprints off the window for the one thousand eleventh time – remind me.
    when i’m tired and sick and want to leave on a jet plane…
    when everyone needs to be somewhere and all i’m supposed to be, i can’t….
     
    in all these moments. and the hundred in between. remind me.

    that it’s not about getting something. but showing something.
    not in what i say but what i live.
    a gospel that’s found in more than just pages of their Bibles.
    a grace that never runs out. a mercy that flows down like that chocolate milk across the table – everywhere!
    and a Savior that sees this tired mama that might not always get it right, but redeems the parts she doesn’t.

    He doesn’t just cover part of us. He covers it all!


    parenting is worthwhile

    amber.

  • {a happy place}

    yesterday was the first day of the year i was able to go to my favorite place here~
    well, to go and not freeze to death! ;)

    reese and i just decided to make an afternoon of it…
    lunch time. nap time. everything!
    so peaceful and wonderful.

    firstdayatbeach~ 071

    firstdayatbeach~ 408

    firstdayatbeach~ 376

    firstdayatbeach~ 351

    firstdayatbeach~ 203

    firstdayatbeach~ 237

    firstdayatbeach~ 259
    firstdayatbeach~ 101
    firstdayatbeach~ 133

    firstdayatbeach~ 225

    firstdayatbeach~ 329

    firstdayatbeach~ 134

    firstdayatbeach~ 481

    firstdayatbeach~ 224

    firstdayatbeach~ 199

    firstdayatbeach~ 475

    firstdayatbeach~ 081

    later when i picked kate up from soccer and ben from skateboarding we grabbed some ice cream and raced out to catch the sunset..

    as we stood admiring i said to the kids, “just think.. God put that there just for you!”

    and if you look close, you can still see the brush strokes!! :)
    what an amazing artist He is.

    firstdayatbeach~ 545

    firstdayatbeach~ 493

    firstdayatbeach~ 731

    firstdayatbeach~ 705

    firstdayatbeach~ 559

    firstdayatbeach~ 622

    wishing you a weekend filled with moments that just kinda make you want to stand and look a bit longer..

    love all my friends who gather here. thanks for sharing in my life. xo

    amber.