June 21, 2013

  • {a bit of life lately}


    may days~ 472
    may days~ 410
    may days~ 470
    the white trillium blanket of the forest floors in spring.

    may things 064
    may things 246
    may things 021
    soccer.

    juneness 009
    juneness 065
    spring training.

    048092

    grade8-jess.june 230grade8-jess.june 254
    grade8-jess.june 030grade8-jess.june 036
    gymnastics.

    grade8-jess.june 287
    water break.

    may days~ 226
    cotton ball clouds.

    may days~ 050
    pretty light.

    may days~ 038
    tired little hiker.

    may days~ 520
    ben’s spot.

    may days~ 228
    exploring.

    may days~ 579
    tired little hiker gets a lift.

    jenn'sparty.father'sday.juneness 203
    panera opened.

    jenn'sparty.father'sday.juneness 222
    jenn'sparty.father'sday.juneness 159
    roller coasters.

    notes
    sweet notes.

    grade8-jess.june 075
    goofy kids.

    spring 2013 142
    thrift store finds.

    may days~ 098
    homemade soup.

    grade8-jess.june 165
    bringing the beauty in.

    spring 2013 050
    sweet tea.

    spring banquet 105
    spring banquet.

    spring banquet 180
    spring banquet 172
    best friends.

    spring banquet 044
    my grade nine youth girls.

    spring banquet 156
    grade nine girl leaders.

    may things 090
    good big brother.

    youth~diva day 2013 260
    sprinkles.

    mothersday2013-emma
    sweet girl.

    blue 005
    colored toilet paper. {finally someone read my mind}

    spring banquet 012
    spring banquet 028
    spring banquet 025
    kate’s play.

    may days~ 393
    evening walks.

    may days~ 170
    sunsets.

    ****

    if you’re planning on moving to a new blog address would you mind leaving that link in the comments.
    i know several have moved and i’m already missing who went where.
    i’m working on opening a feedly account to keep them all in one place and having the links together to copy over would be helpful!

    i’m headed to wordpress also.
    funny that i talked of moving from xanga months ago…
    even think i was misunderstood by some who read and thought i was saying i was out to be the next great blogger.

    oh, well. those who know me or care to give me the benefit of the doubt know that’s not what i was about.
    and after all, once i looked into it more, making money from your blog is not as easy as just sticking a few ads on the side.
    it’s way more involved than i ever care to be.

    i never want blogging to feel like a job. it’s just something i love cause i like writing and most of all..
    a bunch of my friends hang out here too!

    but. now that xanga might be shutting it’s doors i’m suddenly all sentimental and not wanting to leave.
    it’s like that sweatshirt from high school you can never quite throw out.
    old. outdated. whatever. it’s your favorite. it’s comfy.

    xanga will always be a favorite sweatshirt that holds some of my sweetest memories.


    amber.

Comments (66)

  • betheelouwho.blogspot.com

  • looks like ya’ll have been very busy and having loads of fun! Great photos! I love the cupcakes!

    I am going to miss Xanga, too. I have a blogger account but it’s set to private, so if you’re interested, you can private message me your email address and I can send you an invite to it.

  • I didn’t know they made colored t.p. Hope it’s colorfast.
    Your kids are growing up. I’ll message you with e-mail address, etc. Does your brother still live here? If he does, and you ever come to visit him, please call me.

  • Please keep us posted re/ your new blog address.
    I am already missing resolved2worship.
    :(

  • I’ve tried to leave a comment on your last couple of posts and it wouldn’t let me- then I saw where it said to click here if comment box wasn’t working!
    I like seeing the bits and pieces of your life in these pictures. You look beautiful in the red dress!
    My new blog address is http://www.aretheyallyours7.blogspot.com

  • I just adore you Amber! Your life has been busy! All your kids are just buzzing with activity. And your Kate, she is beautiful, you should know.

    Anyhoo, my blog is over here >>> http://thisquietheart1.blogspot.com/

    Love, Eli (onehappymomma)

  • I’ll be looking for your new blog address.
    All the pictures are great.

  • Love this post and all the fabulous pictures!!! I had no idea they make colored toilet paper. Although I suspect it takes a lightyear for new things to hit our area. ;) That field of trilliums?????????? Oh, my goodness! I want to see that sometime. I looked for them here but couldn’t find any .. unless I just wasn’t out at the right time. I need to work at getting a feedly account organized. I know I’m missing a lot of people. Oh and I think you already know where I am, but just in case you wanted everything here when you set up your account, michellebeachy.com/blog

  • I’m already on WordPress because I’ve had two blogs for a while. That address is at Manse Memories. I did open a blogspot address and if you want to follow me there, it is in a blog post of a couple of weeks ago (not that there are many to search through to find it).

    I do not like coloured toilet paper! Isn’t it funny? To each his own.

  • I know what you mean…I was a little sentimental leaving xanga too. I don’t like that everyone is scattered all over.
    It’s harder to keep track. Looking forward to reading your new blog.

    I loved all of your pictures. It’s like a magazine. :)
    The light coming into the woods…Gorgeous.
    The shoes! Super cute…and a thrift store find?!?! <3
    What play was Kate in? I love those shots on the dark stage!

    I think you already know where I’m at since I’ve gotten comments from you, but…..http://elizabethmarie1.blogspot.com/ (Just in case ;)

    You are one of my favorite bloggers..and I think you could be the next big blogger, but it is time consuming like you said.
    Also…I don’t like what some of the big blogs turn into once they get big. Sort of like a giant commercial and you can’t tell the difference between what’s reality and what’s an advertisement. I like the honesty and realness of a smaller blog…unless you’re Ann Voskamp.
    Anyway, enjoy your weekend.
    XxOo

  • I got lost in the comments and forgot what I was going to say . . shoot.

    I love the colored tp.

    Love all the photos. Seriously, all of them. Especially that sunset.

  • Such beautiful photos! Move your music too, love listen to it when I come here.

    http://shannonhostetler.wordpress.com/

  • I feel all sentimental, too! Even worse after reading your post. LOL

    My new blog is here: http://good-to-be-home.blogspot.com/

    MUCH LOVE and thanks for the memories here in Xanga-land!

  • Your photos are beautiful! As for leaving Xanga, I just read about this today. I wish I had been paying more attention. Do you know if Alyssa W. decided to keep her blog going somewhere else? I am going to move mine, though I hardly ever use it. I’ll try and post where when I decide.

  • I know you know…..but just because:
    http://www.toliveloved.blogspot.com

    pictures are awesome!! and your “tired hiker” is getting SO big!!

  • Great pictures! What kind of soup is that? It looks like potato. I have really enjoyed your blog!

  • Amber, your life is so full of beauty.
    I’m at http://ourweekinpics.wordpress.com
    I haven’t researched much yet, but is there a way to extract our xanga blog post and move them over to wordpress? I’m hoping!
    btw, I think you’ll find yourself getting real “comfy” with wordpress too. I love it already!

  • I love your posts and your “baby” is so grown up already. My new site is http://countrymom-jo-ann.blogspot.com/ — I went there reluctantly as I really do like Xanga — maybe I’ll go back if they get it all resolved.

  • I will read you wherever you go!!!!!!!!!! I know you’re not about being famous or anything. You’re about expressing beauty as it lives in and around you and you like to share that. I love to be the recipient of that; the inspiring words, the real life difficulties words, the funny words, and ALL of the photos! Hugs, Gail

  • So many lovely photos. As usual.
    I don’t know if I’m going or where I’m going. Thanks for the feedly link. I feel sad about things being so quiet on Xanga with everyone moving out.
    Love the dad note!
    See you around, Amber. Love.

  • i didn’t realize emma is in gymnastics! such a fun thing.
    i almost forgot about trilliums. we used to have them in our woods growing up. we spent so much time out there at one time.

  • Loved all of this post. (Okay, except the sweet tea. I like unsweet.) I’m not familiar with trillium…what an enchanting plant! Loved all the kid sports and activities. That will be our family in the future! I love cheering our boys on. So many beautiful shots…but nap time is nearly over and I need to be braced for the boys!

  • I’m heartbroken about Xanga possibly closing, simply because everyone will be so scattered. There simply isn’t another blogging site (that I know of) that makes it so easy to follow your friends! I don’t have anything else yet, but if I ever do, I will let you know. I will always want to read yours because I count you as a dear friend!!

    Your kids are just so beautiful, and I’m not just talking about their looks! And the other photos are so pretty! Love you!

  • I left Xanga earlier this year so I’ve been out of the loop for a while. Xanga was a special, and much needed, outlet for me during the tiny-kids-I’m dying-here stage. LOL May God bless your writing and influence wherever you end up! I’m at cuzhelives.wordpress.com

  • BTW-For those making the switch to WordPress…Wordpress has a reader that you can add any blog that you want to follow and read it right there. I find that nicer than Xanga. You can copy and paste links from Blogspot and others. I’m very happy about that.

  • @ata_grandma - no. he doesn’t live there anymore, but he was just up there this weekend for a visit! it’s such a beautiful town~ one day i hope to go back! :) )

  • @fourfiftythree - will do. just working on the set up,etc. then i’ll give the new address here. and yes. i didn’t realize lys had shut her account down already. sad!

  • @Tempguestbrief - @betheelou - @aretheyallyours - @Eli - i’ll be looking y’all up! :) )

  • @smilesbymiles - the trillium’s are the provincial flower here and it’s illegal to pick them! funny huh? i always think.. what are they going to do, lock you up for taking a flower?? but ya never know! and i’m too chicken to find out! ;) ) they only grow in the woods and once a year every spring the ground is covered w/ them. ~ i know what you mean about missing alot of posts by friends. that’s why i feel so anxious now to finally move after dragging my feet on the whole thing for months.. just want it done and over and organized and NORMAL feeling again! ;) ) missing you friend.

  • @LadyoftheManse - i’ve never tried colored tp before but ya know what?? i’m with ya – i don’t like it either. yep. give me plain ole white now!!! haha~

  • @Elizabethmarie_1 - yes. that scattered feeling! like cindy said, “xanga felt like hanging over the fence chatting w/ friends. now, i have to get in my car and drive across town!” well put!

    kate was in a casting crowns production w/ the drama team at our church. she played the “girlfriend” who wasn’t saved and tries to woo her boyfriend back after he gets his life right with God. she did great!!

    so true about the big time bloggers. i get the whole thing about if God has given you a talent use it- with so many bloggers they’re great writers and nothing wrong w/ using your words to encourage others.. AND, if you can make a little extra money on the side more power to ya! but.. i always teeter back and forth w/ it and that’s the conclusion i drew after processing it more after that one post about moving on etc. because it does seem to so quickly turn into a “business” and all about who has the most likes and comments and all that jazz. sometimes too, the big time bloggers all just start sounding the same to me.. like little clones of ann voskamp. haha! ;) ) i like her though. she feels like an original!

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - the colored tp. don’t go there! just don’t go there!!! that’s all i’m saying. :/

  • @peaceatthelake - i think alyssa is taking a break and will blog again on wordpress in the future at some point. atleast that’s what she told me the plan was for now. ;) )

  • @clearlyhis - yes. there’s a super easy plug in you can add to your wordpress site to import all your xanga files. here it is:: http://wordpress.org/plugins/xanga-importer/

  • @mymomentsandmeanderings - yes. it’s potato. the best ever! got the recipe from pioneer woman

  • @Richgem - thanks, gail. hugs right back at ya. :) )

  • @myhopeisinjesus - yes. ya never know.. xanga may survive after all! :) i’ll find ya at blogspot for now though.

    @quiet_hearts - xanga’s like a ghost town, eh? i think i can actually hear the tumbleweed blowing by. haha!! let me know if you move on somewhere else…

  • @richlyblest - yes.. it’s her first year and she loved it! just got the highest award in her class yesterday too so she was thrilled w/ that. her teacher says she’s a natural and wants to prime her for a competitive team. when i hear “competitive” all i hear is travel and money. ugh! not sure that’s the path we want to pursue. we’ll see. :) )

  • @pettybunch - aw! sweet nina!! we will stay in touch for sure. xox

  • @cuz_He_lives - thanks, girl. i’ll add ya. :) )

  • @peaceatthelake - ohh.. thanks for that! i’m still finding my way around wordpress, i’ll check that out!!

  • I’m at WordPress…
    http://www.wordpress.beserkerlife.com I hope I did that right.
    I’d love to know where you are…will you tell us?

  • Lovely pics, Amber! Are you on FB? I am thinking of just doing a blog there, since a lot of Xanga pals are also over there. I DUNNO….. If Xanga survives it will not be the same since so many have already jumped ship. I will stick with it until the end. I am collecting everyone’s new blog address. Do I have yours? Just the other day I was looking at a pic you sent some years ago when you had just three children! WOW! Yes, I keep everything!

  • @grace_to_be - 

    good for emma! kierra did so good with her first teacher, and quickly moved to the next level, but this level is taking a lot longer. she hasn’t really connected with her current teacher, and that makes a difference, i think. i don’t know if i ever want to have her on the competitive teams. i hear money, travel, and nerves and heartbreak (probably more mine than hers!)

  • @gwennieg - yes, i’ll be blogging w/ wordpress. i’ll post the official address here as soon as i get it up and going.. been so busy w/ photography and our church’s daycamp lately that i haven’t had time to put it all together! :) )

  • @DanishDoll - yep.. i’m on facebook. amber cornett hutchins. :) ) i’ll read you wherever you write from!

  • @richlyblest - exactly! all i have to do is watch one episode of dance moms and that makes my mind up instantly. ha!

  • i took a long time looking at your pics. i didn’t know about trilliums… must see them in person someday. :) love ‘em.
    and as MUCH as i enjoyed your pictures (because i like how you capture things, you are soso good at that… and it gave me a peak into what all is going on. miss you tons.) i think it took me even longer to go through your comments!!! i’ve been c&p-ing all the new addresses!

    that comfy sweatshirt thing… i’m feeling it too! some of my dearest friends/coolest people on the planet i’ve met right here!!! YOU being one of them. and it feels strange to check in on xanga and it’s so quiet. soveryquiet. it has me wishing for the old days… but also looking forward to setting something up and getting going again. <3 to you.

  • Amber, i too would read your posts where ever you go. LOVE them! Do you have any idea where Alyssa went, if anywhere? I read you two, daily, when i have the time…makes my day so much better! Love you both <3

    ~ Robin

  • So I’m just getting back on xanga after over a month and am catching up with life in your hood. Looks like it’s been fun and busy as well as changing.
    Colored TOILET PAPER? What? I’ve never seen such stuff? That’s kinda cool though!
    So what is this about xanga closing? I missed it. It seems like almost EVERYONE is leaving which is quite sad since I’ve had xanga the longest of any of my blogs and have SO many friends here! It was just so much easier to keep track of people in one spot verses all over the web now. :/
    Happy Summer to you friend!

  • Gorgeous pictures Amber! I know I feel like I have watched your kiddos grow up here on xanga, adorable baby Reese and your move to Canada.So cute seeing Emma in gymnastics.
    I need to leave as well but don’t quite have the energy to put into starting a new blog (layout etc).

  • Just stopped by to catch up and say I was thinking about you.  Miss you.

  • Such lovely pics, as usual!

    I’m headed over to blogger. It’s quite the adjustment when xanga is so comfortable!

    http://bigpicturelittlemoments.blogspot.com/

  • I also moved over to wordpress.com….but than moved to state alone webhost using wordpress.org We are still working on getting all moved in, but I was so very grateful to have all my old blog posts moved over and my memories safe and sound! I can now be found at http://livinginwbl.com/

    Let us know where you have moved to exactly….

    Jen C

  • i think you already have my other blog address…but in case you don’t, it is: parlasoni.blogspot.com :)

  • I’m gonna so love reading you again, my friend! Love your images … such a beautiful family, and yum, Panera is my fav! Hubby has done quite a few of the remodeling of their stores. If you’re ever in Indiana, I’d treat you to a soup and salad there … oh, and something sweet, of course! ;) Yes, I’m also going to miss this ‘old sweatshirt’ even tho’ I haven’t ‘worn’ it as much as I’d have liked! So glad we can stay connected beyond Xanga! You got me on Facebook, and of course on here until the lights go out, but I’m also on Blogger now … getting a head start! I think I sent you the link on FB, but I’ll leave it here, too! Actually I’ll leave both … yep, I also opened one on WordPress, but need to do more work over there to get things ready for ‘visitors’! Please do put them both in your reader, though … never know where I might end up when all is said and done!

    http://threadsoffaith2.blogspot.com

    Haven’t posted anything significant on WP just yet … still finding my way around all those ‘widgety’ things! :P
    http://threadsoffaith2.wordpress.com

    Blessings to you, Amber!
    - Deborah / aka: Debi

  • If I do get the hang of it, I will be at http://pettybunch.wordpress.com. I guess I’m old and set in my ways – it’s a HARD change!! Love you, Amber!

  • @down_onthefarm - missing you and the old days too.. i want that comfy sweatshirt back!!!! xoxo

  • @robins_egg_blue - hey robin! so good to hear from ya~ i think alyssa is taking a break for now. she said she might come back at some point in the future. :) )

  • @redladybug18 - well trust me, colored tp is way cooler looking than it actually is! ~ and are you going to blog somewhere else??

  • @CurrySparks - a fun surprise to see you here again my friend. miss you too.. and when i’m in cincy and pass that caribou coffee it always reminds me of our time there! you need to take a bike trip to canada. ;) )

  • I can’t seem to comment on your most recent post or on your new blog yet. I am glad you are getting your new site up, and look forward to following you there.

  • @grace_to_be -  If I have to leave I’ll just be blogging probably on my site…gabriellecole.com I’m becoming more of an instragram girl though…you need one!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *