February 8, 2013

  • {friday loVe. post#2}

    today is my dad’s 61st birthday..
    so it seemed only fitting that the “something i love” photo be about him!

    ihearthismonth 053
    my wedding day. him quietly waiting behind the mass of people. so like him. always in the background.
    i excused myself from who i was talking to and went over.  

    it’s one of my favorite pictures of us together.
    not because of what it looks like.
    but because of what he was saying.
    i remember the moment like it was yesterday

    “sis, i am so very proud of you…” his voice cracked as he said it. he was trying not to cry.
    {we had a bet between us about crying that day. and i think in the end we both lost}

    but it was something i had heard him say so often. and still do. 
    something, that no matter how many times i hear it, still means the world.
    and something that’s taught me the importance of making sure my kids are hearing it from me!  

    dad. thanks for the example you’ve been.

    you didn’t just tell me how to live.
    you simply lived, and let me watch you do it.

    thanks for being the kind of man i wanted to marry.
    for giving me the right definition of love.

    and thanks for the safety too. that always stands out in my mind as well.
    from when i was little and you prayed away the boogie man…
    to when i was grown and you accepted me no matter what!

    so grateful.

    missing you today.

    happy, happy birthday!


    ****

    and speaking of weddings. let’s hear about YOURS!

    what year were you married and where?
    and bonus question:: were you happy with your wedding, or wish to go back and have a do over? ;)

    hope you all have a GREAT weekend.~
    the kids have a snow day today so i see cupcake making and some movie watching in my near future!!!

    xo.

    p.s. if you do a friday love post let us know in the comments so we can all come over and share in the LOVE. :) )

    don’t you just love the word love!! i don’t think you can overuse it.
    love love love love loooooooooooooove!!!! :) )

    or smiley faces. they’re impossible to overuse also!! ;)
    oh, and exclamation points! those too!!!!! ;) )))

    amber.

Comments (19)

  • i’ll go first. :) ))

    we were married nov 1st of 96. and yes.. i think i’d like a do-over. {on the wedding. not the person!} ;)
    no major changes, but i would definitely simplify the ceremony {and the hair!}
    and put more emphasis on the reception and being w/ guests after.
    there were like 700 people there and they had come from all over.. i wanted to have more time with them!

    a friend of mine who got married in the south had a picnic the day after her wedding for out of town guests, etc.
    she and her husband opened their presents and were able to get around and really spend time with everyone.
    i liked that idea.

    guess i should have gotten married in a warmer month too!!! ;) ))

    but all in all. it married us. so not too many regrets!

  • You make me laugh and nearly cry!
    Sweet sweet post! That father/daughter relationship is just SO precious, I just can’t get over it.
    And you remember the special moment that goes with that picture too… love that. just looooooooove that. :)
    Nope, you can’t really overuse that word. Or the smileys either, nope. :) ))))
    (jenny k. will looooooove this. jk :) sorry, just couldn’t help that.))

    At one point I wondered if I have to quick get married before Y2K if I wanted to know marital life!
    Because the world was going to end then, you know? And I reeeeeeally wanted to be married, at least a little. :)
    Well, the world went on and 2005 marks the grand year for us!
    I looooooooved (to continue with the word) our wedding day, it was THE best day.
    Would I do things differently?
    Of course not! Um, well, yeah, I would. Pinterest and blogs add a whole new creative level I never had!

    Wow, I think I’ve had too much caffeine and not enough food today. :)
    xoxo

  • You already know I participated today. :D

    I LOVE that picture of you and your dad. It’s so sweet. :D :D :D :D

    I got married in July of 1998. I would definitely elope and have spent all that money on a honeymoon trip instead. My family would not have cared, I don’t think. I didn’t spend a ton of money, we made a lot of stuff and got a lot of stuff free but I think we’d have enjoyed a trip more than we enjoyed the wedding. lol OH well, we have good memories of it too. ha.

  • i braced myself and did not cry , but beautiful post ! Wedding …. June 1996 , do over ? well we did we renewed our vows for Scott’s 40th bday. We weren’t christians when we first got married so we wanted a brand new ceremony for our brand new lives. SO i was blessed enough to marry the man i adore twice.

  • @lifeisadance - i’m laughing with you.. because i TOO have had too much to drink and not enough to eat!! haha. ;) )

    pinterest! oh man!! bride’s today have no excuse to not have a fabulously creative wedding.

    and yes. jenny k. and audrey.. that last part’s for YOU!!!! :) )))

  • Awwww….such a sweet memory you have of your wedding day with your dad. I just love it. What an incredible BLESSING to have an amazing father. : )

    Well, as for us…Dan and I met when we were 15, started dating at 17, got married at 21 in June 2007, in Ohio. We actually came very close to eloping in 2006. Ya know whose idea it was? MY MOM’S!!!!! Anyways, we waited until June of 07 since we knew we would be spending so much of our life apart from our family and friends because of our Air Force plans. We decided to wait for the wedding and let all those that we love be a part of our big day. : )

  • this is sweet. i loveloveLOVE that picture!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    and you can’t overuse something that gets the ooomph of something good out on paper. or keyboard. i agree!!! :) :) :)

    i’ve already uploaded next week’s love pic :) but i’ll tell you about it this week, answering your question.
    we were married december 1, 1990. i would totally do a do over. decor and all that. ;)
    i didn’t really care for my dress, which is a fat bummer. every girl should loveLOve her dress.
    i love how weddings today have all these personal and meaningful touches. i honestly don’t know though,
    if i would be inspired or overwhelmed. maybe both! :) there’s so MUCH out there.

    happy birthday wishes to your dad. i know that you were just with him. but something about the.day. is different.
    hope that you have fun connecting, even if it is long distance! <3

  • Happy birthday to your dad! It’s a blessing to have such a father.

    My husband and I were married in May of 1992 in my hometown in Indiana. It was the most special day of my life, and I’m not sure I would change many things except as you mentioned, perhaps the hair. But I suppose we were in the style of our time!

  • Happy Birthday to your Dad.  I love the picture of the 2 of you together on your wedding day. 

    I loved my wedding day and I wouldn’t change a thing.  I was so naive that I didn’t have a care in the world!  :)

  • Jan 1 2005 for us
    At the time, I was perfectly happy with my wedding, now. with pinterest and all the fabulous wedding photography/blogs, it’s hard not to be discontent w/ it, but it really was a good day.
    I like your picture, and eager shayne just waiting for his turn

    700 people?? seriously. wow. and you’re not even Mennonite?? (i’m kidding, I’m kidding ) That is alot of people.

  • @fruitloops115 - no. but like i’ve told you before.. we practically were! ;)

  • April 5, 1997. We were married in the living room of my parents big, old house and I would do that the same! I loved it.
    The things I would change are eventually going to be on the same level as my hair and veil…our of style! So yes I would change things, but I would probably want to change those things again someday too. I loved our wedding day though, loved it!
    The best part was waking up the next day and looking over at him and remembering…”That’s right! We’re married!”

    Happy Birthday to your Dad. What a great picture. You looked beautiful.
    It’s my mom’s birthday today too!
    I shared her picture on my site too.

    Happy Weekend to you!
    XxOo

  • Happy Birthday to your Dad. That is a lovely picture of the two of you, the look of admiration in your eyes says it all.

    We got married in 1983. The idea of big church wedding ceremony scared me silly and we weren’t Christians then, so we opted for a trip to City Hall with just immediate family members, my husband’s Aunt and Uncle stood up for us and  then we had a lovely intimate catered outdoor supper at their big beautiful estate style home, with the same family members and some of our closet friends. Then the next night we had a dance for extended  family and friends at a rented hall were everyone whooped it up good. Our honeymoon was fun too, we did a road trip from Oshawa Ontario to Montreal Quebec. I wore a white flapper dress for the ceremony and the dance that I’d found on a discount rack for $20.00 and had some alterations done to the sleeves and collar and I loved it. When I think back on the wedding it seems a little disjointed but I really had no clue what I was doing and that was what we ended up with, so if I could do it all over again I might think it through a little better but really, I remember it all fondly.

    We are buried in snow here…I imagine you got hit pretty good too eh?

  • I did not have the blessing of a close relationship with my dad, nor did my husbad, so I’m encouraged and inspired when I see pics and hear of stories like you and your dad’s relationship! I pray we have a close, strong relationship with our kids for them to pass on to their’s!
    We had an outdoor wedding which I loved!! Wooded area with a clearing and little stream running through – June 14, 1997 – it rained the night before, but sun was shining on us for our big day – we kept it pretty simple – hubby made and decorated the cake – he did a great job! Sure, I would do some things different – I followed the “traditions” and didn’t let myself think outside the box on making the wedding more about our personalities, our likes, etc. Yes, Pinterest has sooo many fun, creative ideas that I would copy :) All in all, I had a blessed, exciting day! Very young and blinded by love though! haha :)

    I did post a Friday love pic yesterday…I’ve finally got a camera to be able to take and post pics again.

  • I enjoyed your reflections on your Dad that special day and what he has meant to you. A very nice tribute on a special day for him.

    The day before our wedding was a huge annual fireworks show in SF, it was the best around put on by a Radio Station, and this year it was right before the wedding. The wedding party took the boat out into San Francisco Bay and we had an awesome night watching the fireworks and listening to the music. Well the concert ended and we cruised out past the Golden Gate Bridge to see the lights on it at night and started back home…..the engine blew a valve….we ended up only being able to go 5mph….it was over an hour back to the dock…we tried to get some rest in the mini cabin…it ended up being after 2am before we finally made it home!!!

    My husband and I were married on May 13, 2001….we didn’t know for like 5 months after we set the date that it was actually going to be Mother’s Day the day we married. So now every few years, our anniversary falls on Mother’s Day….I like that.

    We married in a huge church with only 48 people in attendance so all the guest were able to sit up in the nice comfy choir seats up on the stage I always had dreams of having a long Cathedral length gown and veil and nothing was stopping me from having that on my day. So I walked down the aisle at 3:30 in the afternoon with a gown that strung out behind me two pews it seemed and a veil even longer….LOVVVEEEDDD ITTTTTT and would do it again. My mom made my dress after we found one we liked in a magazine, I tried it on at the store, she looked at it and we copied it as best we could http://riversofwaterps13.blogspot.com/2013/02/wedding-day-finery.html. We did appetizers and cake and then went out to dinner with the wedding party. We had 5 grooms men and one Maid of Honor! it was a wonderful day with just our closest friends and families. We left two days later for a cruise in the Caribbean. A private 50′ yacht, just the two of us, a captain and a chef it was the most wonderful way to start out our married life, just the two of us.

  • Married July 13, 1996. Definitely do NOT want to do the wedding over! Ours was pretty simple, but really think they are so hyped up. Would want to go simpler if I had to do it again–it is the marriage that counts anyway, and mine is wonderful!

  • We were married twice in 1996. Once in June at the JP in Wichita Falls, so we would have a marriage license b/c the preacher in MD wouldn’t marry us without one and we weren’t going to be in MD long enough to get a license before the church wedding in July. The church wedding was with all the family and friends at a little Wesleyan Church in Denton, MD. I’d do it over again because it was a terrible day for my wife. The guests were wonderful and the ceremony went well, but our families were fighting and they made it an awful day for Tina. Back then, I didn’t have the guts to tell my parents or hers to back off and let her have her day. Plus, I tried to sing to her (Stephen Curtis Chapman’s “I Will Be Here” it was a surprise)and missed a bunch of words b/c my emotions got the best of me. I’d like another shot at it.

  • You were/are very blessed to have a daddy who would tell you he was proud of you. You looked adorable as a bride! I love that picture…it is priceless. We were married on May 3rd, 1980 at Scottsdale Baptist church at 7 p.m. I wore my mother’s gown, which fit me a little big because she was a bigger bride. But I felt like a princess and was too clueless and penniless to try to find my own gown. I do like everything we did as far as the wedding went. Today, if I did a “re-do” I’d have my very own gown and the ceremony would be in a very well-lit room during the day. Also, we’d have fabulous music. Then we’d go on a honeymoon that would last longer than a week! We went to the California coast. Beautiful weather and I was floating on air. (It was SO hard to come back to the job!)

  • aww!! what a sweet tribute to your dad!
    your saying you can remember what was being said in the picture like it was yesterday, oh yes. i look at pictures from our wedding and feel the same way. and, yet. it’s been almost 12 years that we said i do in that little church in Kansas. it was a perfect day. i have no desire to redo anything about it. i’m glad i got married in the era i did and embraced and loved the trends that were then. and, the people that were there….i look back at that in awe. 350 people came from all over the country just for us. for that one day. i remember leaving the ceremony and being bleary eyed and OVERWHELMED at the love and friendship that was represented in that place and the gratefulness i felt in my heart that so many people were willing to come together and support and stand by us.
    i’m loving your inspiration to post a picture on fridays for this month of love!
    happy birthday to you dear one! (hugs) across the virtual miles!!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *