March 5, 2013

  • {what mercy really looks like}

    easter 2012 546.JPG

    there’s a post that’s been sitting in my weblog for a week now unpublished.
    it’s about a fish. just something light. another silly story for the hutch family archives.
    but each time i came to submit it i couldn’t. it just felt off. not right.
    maybe because light, silly fish stories was not exactly the mood i’ve been in this past week…
    it felt to me like i wanted to do another “whole picture” post, only this time, about my heart.

    when we first moved to canada i struggled with what took me a long time to admit was depression.
    crying alot. not wanting to get out of bed. not wanting to eat. that overwhelming feeling of just sadness. hopelessness.
    i get that i’d just had a new baby. it was winter. i was far from home. shayne’s job situation changed almost instantly …
    lots of things to process and adjust from what i thought was going to be, to what was.

    it was a dark time and as dark times seem, the light will never come. but it did.
    still, throughout our years here i’ve continued to feel the pull back towards that pit again.
    i know there’s medical reasons for depression – chemical imbalances. hormone changes.
    i don’t knock any of that… or needing to take a pill to feel “normal” again.
    but i also think there’s a depression that is spiritual – when you stand at that precipice of disappointment, even disillusionment..
    and have to choose either to believe God is who He says He is, or He is not.

    and it’s not a one time deal. we stand there many times. all throughout our life.
    and for me, when i have chosen to not believe. that He is good. always. in control-
    completing what He has begun. transforming. working together. loving…
    that is when i plummet.
    that is when i find myself in the all too familiar mire of self pity. doubt. anger. resentment.

    and that’s where i found myself sitting last week.
    not really for any particular reason i could pinpoint.
    only it seemed nothing and everything all at once!

    depression is a lonely place. partly because we make it that. shut down. close others out.
    our pride keeps us silent. and our fear believing we’re the only one.
    the sunday school answers we know by heart guilt us into thinking we should be stronger. better.able to pull ourselves up.
    and somehow if we were just spiritual enough we wouldn’t struggle.

    but the longer i walk in this relationship with Christ, the more i realize it’s not about being “spiritual enough”
    it’s about coming to rest in the ENOUGH He already is!

    how often i exhaust myself when i don’t have to…
    i don’t have to keep fighting for a victory that’s already been won!

    “in this world you will have trials, but be of good cheer, I HAVE OVERCOME THE WORLD.”

    knowing this doesn’t make me welcome trials more.
    i’m pretty sure i’ll never jump up and down and clap and be all, “oh, goody. another one!!”
    but knowing this makes me shift my focus from the trial to The One that’s bigger than whatever it is i am facing!
    whatever is making me feel overwhelmed, He says He’s overcome!

    not will overcome. already HAS! past tense.

    easter 2012 556easter 2012 532

    nothing we ever go through takes God by surprise. and none of our reactions ever catch Him off guard.
    don’t ever feel shame in feeling discouraged. depressed. defeated.
    YOU are exactly who He came for.
    YOU are who He won the victory for.
    that one just like you.

    and we wouldn’t know there was freedom were it not for our chains.
    and we wouldn’t know His healing were it not for our wounds.

    there is a side to Him we learn only through the darkness.

    and i can’t always say how He brings me back from those times.
    all i know is He does. every time.
    and without condemnation. without reproach.
    His opinion of me never changes and His love of me never lessens.
    He knows my neediness and He’s okay with that.

    i kept thinking alot last week about the scripture that says His mercies are fresh every morning.
    and i hung especially on that word, fresh. new!
    He could have used many other choices of wording there to assure us of His faithfulness…
    He could have told us His mercy was endless. thrown it out to us as a one time blanket to cover whatever it is we’re going to face.
    if He had, that would have been enough.
    and yet, because He’s a God so much more than even that He went further, as so He does.
    right down to exactly where we are.. giving us the comfort that He’s going to show up in our daily lives.
    not simply providing what we need, being what we need!

    it’s as if i used to have this mindset that fresh mercy was like a bucket delivered to my house each morning..
    like those old milk jugs back in the day.
    and there it would sit. waiting for me to pick it up and pour out over my life.
    now, there’s a different picture shaping in my mind…
    one that looks more like this~

    morning coming, a soft knock at the door. opening it, i find there’s not a bucket waiting for me..
    no, there’s nothing for me to lift. to do.
    instead, there stands Christ Himself, hand extended.
    He says, “I’ve come to walk with you through this day.”

    and then i see it, that here.. here is mercy.

    amber.

    iheartthismonth 035

Comments (63)

  • i’m whispering amens. but only because my throat feels thick and choked up.
    inside they are being shouted at full volume. :)
    thanks sweet friend, for sharing a ”whole pic” post about your heart.

    there’s so much condemnation around that’s constantly knocking,
    sometimes barging in seemingly… uninvited.
    but you have offered something precious with your honesty…
    and a beautful picture for me to take along
    in my day—HE’s at my door. for ME.  

    <3

  • I love this, Amber. Especially:

    but i also think there’s a depression that is spiritual – when you stand at that precipice of disappointment, even disillusionment..
    and have to either choose to believe God is who He says He is, or He is not.
    and it’s not a one time deal. we stand there many times. all throughout our life

    That’s so right on.

  • Amber, so many words of wisdom. I love it!

  • Beautiful words that I want to pin to Pinterest on my quote wall : ) seriously!
    thank you sooo much for sharing! Only you can be “preachy” without being preachy if that makes any sense :) It is a compliment or meant to be !

    God does not want or need “A Lister Christians” He needs us to Need Him each and every day and not pretend we have it all together because we don’t :)

    I’ve said it before but you and @down_onthefarm need to write a book together :)

  • I loved Beth’s comment! What you said about depression that is spiritual… when you have to choose to believe that God is who he says he is or he is not. I have felt that choice keenly, but there is also so much clarity and comfort in that statement. He IS who He says He is and He will do what He has promised to do. He has promised that we will have trials and tribulations in this world but He has overcome it! We will walk in darkness but He will be our light!

    One thing that has continued to bless and impress me Amber, is your teachable spirit, which I know must be a delight to the Lord. You have eyes and a heart that is always saying “Show me Lord. Teach me.” This was a beautiful and courageous post!

    I’d still like to hear the “fish story” ;)

  • Each of us is an integral part of the Church – His Body.   He will not dispose of us.   I’ve been to that place you describe, but He doesn’t write me off.  Instead, He comes looking for me to carry me back home.  Thanks for this post!

  • Yes, a thousand times yes. I felt a little tremor of healing just reading these words. Feelings and emotions, beliefs and lies, … so many things I am still trying to process in this first year of enormous transition and have still not been able to put into words. But this? “depression is a lonely place. partly because we make it that. shut down. close others out. ” Yes, it is lonely. And sometimes for me it is not even so much pride, as just feeling too down to muster the energy to tell anyone about it. I remember one night soon after we moved here going out to lie on the sofa and just sobbing because the pain and grief and was larger than life. Transition and change does crazy stuff, especially when so many of the things we have inadvertently made part of our security base get jerked right out from under us.

    You could not have said this better: “but i also think there’s a depression that is spiritual – when you stand at that precipice of disappointment, even disillusionment..
    and have to either choose to believe God is who He says He is, or He is not.”

    I have been longing for II Thesalonians 3:1 to be for me: Finally, brethren, pray for us, that the word of the Lord may have free course, and be glorified, even as it is with you. Because, like you, I’m not looking for one more hard thing. But at the same time, I have seen God in a way I never saw Him before. And seeing God always shows up the parts of me that are so not like Him.

    I love you, girl!!!

  • Thank you! God has blessed, helped me through your words; lit a candle to lighten my sometimes wilful darkness.

  • All choked up here too… because I can so identify with it ALL.
    The dark, the disappointment, the choice of trusting or disbelieving…
    Responding wrongly, responding right…
    and all the time, He is there.
    And coming out on the other side (many times over, I keep re-learning this lesson)
    and being in awe of His faithfulness…
    The fresh mercy vs. endless mercy – I LOVE that.
    What a powerful post… one I need right now.
    How I love you, Amber!

  • What a powerful post. I had a couple of pretty dark years in between miscarrying and having God’s healing grace pour over me. Nick Vujicic said that “God can heal you without changing the circumstances”. And He did. And then we found out we were pregnant. : )

    I loved what you wrote here…

    “nothing we ever go through takes God by surprise. and none of our reactions ever catch Him off guard.
    don’t ever feel shame in feeling discouraged. depressed. defeated.
    YOU are exactly who He came for.
    YOU are who He won the victory for.

    and we wouldn’t know there was freedom were it not for our chains.
    and we wouldn’t know His healing were it not for our wounds.”

    With every sentence I read, my heart was crying, “yes, YES!” You are a beautiful testimony of God’s grace. Of being real and not pretending like everything is always fine. You’ve let God use you in so many ways through your blog, and it has been such an encouragement to me MANY times.

    Much MUCH love,
    Chrissy

  • I think as hormonal women we can all relate to some degree. January was a hard month for me, and in thinking back it seems like that time of year often is, winter blah’s, sickness, etc. I like what you said about His mercies are new every morning. Praise Him!!

  • Perfection. Tears. Love you. XO

  • I Peter 4:12-13 ~ <3

  • You seem to always say it just right. Describe the heart, life and hurt perfectly. Thank you for writing…I can identify.
    Love your heart, amber!! Xoxo.

  • I am so grateful for HIS mercy! Love u

  • Some of my favorite parts of the Bible address this concept…all through the Psalms, Josh1:9 “the Lord your God is with you…” , Prov 3 “…He will make your path straight.”, Is. 40:31 “…the young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;…” , and 41:10 “…Fear not for I am with you, be not dismayed for I am your God…”
    I don’t understand Him, and I can’t explain Him, but I’m grateful for His unwarranted favor. I liked this post. I hadn’t given thought to many of those snippets for a long time ’til I read this. What an encouraging post.

  • Amber…this was SO good. Thank you for always sharing your heart.
    So grateful for His mercy and grace.
    XxOo

  • This encouraged me in huge ways. Thank you!

  • So true! Thank you!

  • i do believe you have struck a cord w/ many many women! ;) it’s beautiful how God is using your heart to speak to so many other hearts…mine included :)

  • I experienced a similar place in my life awhile back after the death of a friend… and I was so ashamed that I couldn’t “pull myself up” and move forward. I felt lost… and so scared to name it — because depression was a scar of my past I didn’t want to tangle with again. I really like that part of One Thousand Gifts where she talks about naming it – bringing it out of the shadows and giving it to God.

    Yes, I just posted on my facebook this morning how this verse was probably one of my favorites as a debtor to grace– His mercies are fresh every morning…

    Humbled at the buckets always before me of grace and mercy.

  • I cannot form thoughts for the tears. Thank you for saying what so many of us feel!

  • Oh Amber- I want to travel across the country and just give you a hug right now! I can identify So much with the struggles that life brings, the disappointments, the constant tension between what ‘should’ be and what ‘is’…. And for me, it always comes back how I view God, not who He is…. and with that, I still find myself feeling as defeated as a professional baseball player would getting creamed by a team of little league-ers…. It just shouldn’t happen, I argue! But all along the way, it’s those defeats that are the means to bring me to the foot of the cross- into his arms of mercy, as you so beautifully put it! I just really don’t know who God is and need Him to constantly renew my mind and enlighten me more and more of who He is….. the more I learn, the more I realize that I just know so little…. Well, I wish I could tell you that I’m ‘past’ it- and those discouragements are ‘behind’ me….. but they aren’t. They are a regular cycle of my life. They are what makes me seek Him, desire Him, and depend on Him.
    But I can assure you, my friend- that you are not alone! :)
    Thanks for opening up and bringing me the same comfort <3
    Matthew 11:28

  • @perrypatch They are what makes me seek Him, desire Him, and depend on Him. !! yes, very true!
    Even times when we feel forsaken, feel like giving up, I think we still find ourselves crying out to God, our savior. We still have hope, maybe just a tiny glimmer. We still feel a bit of faith…or we wouldn’t keep crying out to Him cause we know He is all we have, we depend on and trust Him to remain faithful to us, His children.
    Ps. 145:14 The LORD upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down.
    Ps. 3:3 But you are a shield around me, O LORD; you bestow glory on me and lift up my head. – I clung to this verse the last 4 yrs – I need him to lift up my head, cause i feel so bowed down at times. Sure, it’s because I take my eyes off Him and allow my mind to be focused on circumstances, bills, no job, etc. Then, I worry, fear, feel panicky and then depressed.
    So I’m sorry for all the stress and struggle you experience, but thank you, cause we learn from you and are encouraged by your thoughts, your experiences ;) love you Amber!

  • I came from Danya’s rec. not sure how I missed in my own subs but so honestly written and from reading through the comments so many of us can relate. Thank you for sharing your experiences and bringing glory to God through what He has shown you!

  • Wow! Crazy how your post has some of the exact same words that were going through my mind today. Are you familiar with the book “Hinds Feet on High Places”? Well, I am just realizing that if I look in the deep recesses of my heart, my name is “Not Enough”. Yes, there are folks around me who contribute to me feeling that way, but I am seeing that most of all that is who I think I am. The good part is I feel God wanting me to let Him be my Beloved and the name I hear Him calling me is “Joyful Abandon”. I read in Song of Sol. today… “Who is this that is coming up out of the wilderness, LEANING ON HER BELOVED!” It’s me! and whosoever will! Much blessing and joy wished your way from a fellow pilgrim…!

  • Reading my Bible and listening to good Christian music does so much to get me through the tough emotional times.  So sorry to hear you’ve been low.  I hope you feel better soon, friend.  Praying for mercy so full that it pours, simply pours bucketS over you until you almost want to cry “stop!” I’m about to drown!  :)

  • Such words of wisdom and truth.  But yet shared from such a real and vulnerable perspective too.  These were words that were so good for me to hear today!

  • @down_onthefarm - yes. i knew you would get me here. :) did you see the comments about us writing a book together? here and on facebook?? i’m all in. haha. we could title it something like, “grace for dummies.” or, “how to never graduate kindergarten.” you know, something real intelligent like that!! ;) ) i love you and your heart for Him and doing this journey with you!!

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - yes! well i’ve seen the medical side of depression but LIVED the spiritual side! i sometimes wish there were a pill for the latter one too. ;) )

  • @Cluesy - well, i am a preacher’s daughter. ;) but no.. if you hear any preaching it’s directed at myself!!! and i’d love to author a book w/ cindy.. i’m not sure we’d ever get anything done though. we’d just sit around talking and laughing about all we want to write about without ever writing it!!:) she’s awesome. and so are you!!! i just have the best women in my life. period.

  • @inanorchard - thanks so much april! love your words of truth speaking back to me. and i pray i always stay teachable.. it’s truly my desire.

    hope maybe next post to get that fish story told. you know how fish stories go…;)))

  • @quest4god@revelife - ”He comes looking…” yes! and amen that He does!

  • @smilesbymiles - i think moving to a new place has got to be one of the biggest things to just so completely knock every prop out from under us – sending us reeling, groping for that security again, and yes, hopefully we find it in Him but oh.. oh, the process of it!!! the tears and do i ever hear ya on the exhaustion!! but so true that as hard as the hard is, there are things we’d never learn otherwise. see of His character. come to know and be able to offer others encouragement and hope as your words have done for me just reading them. knowing i’m in good company and someone else gets it. :) ) “that the word of the Lord might have free course and be glorified…” amen.

    love you right back girlfriend.

  • @sewnitter - thank you. no matter how dark, His truth shines brighter! keep on. you’re so not alone~

  • @grace_to_be - one of those yellow and black for dummies handbooks? yeah. i’m in too. :D you write. i’ll do the head nodding and amening. and i’m sure that i could do that better… somewhere on an island. with sunshine. and someone bringing me a drink when ever i wanted… like iced tea. ha. and we’ll call it business expenses… right?

    i’ve thought about this post alot. how much you mean to me. and how beth’s words too echo what has been on my mind. do i believe him to BE who he says he is? or not? and then there’s… do i believe what he says about ME?! THAT too.

  • pa friend had linked your blog on facebook- thank you for sharing truth so humbly.

    “but i also think there’s a depression that is spiritual – when you stand at that precipice of disapointment, even disillusionment..
    and have to choose either to believe God is who He says He is, or He is not.

    and it’s not a one time deal. we stand there many times. all throughout our life.
    and for me, when i have chosen to not believe. that He is good. always. in control-
    completing what He has begun. transforming. working together. loving…
    that is when i plummet.”

    this was the part I needed most because I have been struggling with this as well.
    thank you for sharing what was on your heart. God bless you!

  • Praying God’s peace will pour over you like rain so you’ll need a bucket to contain the leftovers! I have been where you have been and I add my amen to your words and the others who have shared, there is a side to Him we only learn in the darkness. Great is His faithfulness!

  • “don’t ever feel shame in feeling discouraged. depressed. defeated.
    YOU are exactly who He came for.
    YOU are who He won the victory for.
    that one just like you.”

    thank you.

  • @lifeisadance - …and i love you too!! :) )

  • @CBrown6207 - ”God can heal you without changing the circumstances” so true! how often i think if only the circumstances were different everything would be better.. but as He’s continually reminding me ;) He’s far more interested in changing me! and usually the vehicle He’s doing that through is whatever circumstance i wish were different!

    i’m so sorry about your miscarriage. i know that pain. and know it still as we wait on God for another one..

    much love to you girl~

  • @chambray7 - the hormones, bleh, yes! that just magnifies it all doesn’t it.. and winter. yuck. can’t wait for summer and warmth and SUNSHINE!!!

  • @fwren - amen! and thank you. <3

  • @sdb73 - so glad you’re in this with me! love you too.

  • @jennieanne84 - thanks, girl. love and missing you~

  • @lightnindan -  so glad you posted those scriptures. some of my favs and ones that have been on my mind lately too. that’s the cool thing about comments – you write a blog, hoping maybe others are encouraged in some way by it, then in turn, your encouraged by what they share back! :) the huge water wheel of God’s grace going round and round. love it!

  • @Elizabethmarie_1 - @WasabiBek - @DanishDoll - @LadyoftheManse - @brokenmiracle - @Lynda -  – thank YOU! so grateful for all you women showing up.. sending back those confirming words that others get it too. :) )

  • @zanyzeal - i know! why do we always feel such shame in being human? i read once that the hardest person for us to extend grace to is ourselves. i’m learning the more i know and recognize myself in HIM the more i’m okay with my weakness.. because He is. :)

    so very sorry about your friend. death always sends us reeling. big hug and clinging to those fresh mercies right along with ya.

  • @perrypatch - ”the more I learn, the more I realize that I just know so little.” yes yes YES!! so glad i’m not alone in this classroom. i’m going to move my desk closer to yours.. :) )

  • @wj3km - i know you know! and i’m so grateful for the encouragement you’ve offered me in turn from those times of darkness you’ve been through.. there’s a certain part of God we never see were it not for the tough times, and there’s also a certain sensitivity we never gain towards others were it not for that. He’s built that in you and i’m blessed by it~

  • @Janelle - i read that book years ago as a teen and just reading your words here sent that all flooding back in.. and making me want to go find a copy to read again!

    thank you so much for taking the time to stop in and read and share your thoughts in return. loveLOVE that verse, “who is this coming out of the wilderness… LEANING ON HER BELOVED…” oh YES!!! and amen. leaning with you sister. leaning with you! :) )

  • @purpleamethyst76 - so true. His word, good music. loved this song lately – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xzaivDbu9c the hurt and the healer!!

    @appalolly -  thanks friend.

  • @down_onthefarm - an island. iced tea. sunshine. i’m loving this book idea more and more!!! let’s just get together to talk about that whole thing of believing what He says about ME. hmm.. yes.

  • @sara - well you are not alone in your struggles… know there are many who have stood and are on that very precipice. He is faithful. just when we think there’s no way out and hope is lost, there He is. go open the door! :) )

    @bakersfarm - thank you. with all the prayers others have offered even here i’m thinking i should be going to buy some more buckets! ;) )

  • great post and amen girl! His mercy is enough for each day. I’ve dealt with depression as well and I think for me it’s when I lose that hope. The hope that things won’t be this way forever or hope for all the problems that I face. It seems like if satan can steal my hope, he’s got me. It’s when I draw closer to Jesus that he gives me that (as that song ‘great is thy faithfulness’ says…)”Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow, and I realize I’ve got…Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

  • I sure love how you write. You are such an encouragement. Thank you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *