March 8, 2013

  • {underneath it all}

    sitting here in my bedroom, window open…
    just came back from a brisk walk where i actually got hot!!
    and here only weeks ago, i had my doubts i’d ever be warm again! ;)

    i can hear the birds outside. a sound i haven’t heard in awhile and love.
    kate just came into the room and i told her to listen too.

    she said, “ah, that’s so nice.” and there we sat. us both. just listening.
    the corners of my mouth turning up at the silly joy of it all.

    reminded like i am this time every year and yet still always surprised…
    that no matter how bleak.
    how buried.
    how impossible things might look.

    we are never without hope.
    ever!

    we might grow weary. and it might be hard.
    maybe we can’t see any signs of hope. feel it. but it doesn’t change that it’s there.
    underneath it all there is beauty. there is LIFE!! 

    winter isn’t completely behind us here north.
    there will be snowfalls still that will cause me to sigh. to doubt.
    but i know {because i’ve been in this place before} it doesn’t last forever.  
    there is this turning of seasons.
    and this cold part. dead part. the part i like least..
    all a necessary part for growth to come.

    because yes, He makes all things new!

    in me. in you. in us all who are His. because He loves us.
    because He never stops showing up.
    changing us. shaping us. deepening us. drawing us.
     
    there’s fresh mercy knocking. can you hear it?

    this place, what it looks like now… 
    iheartthismonth 121

    is also this place. what it will look like again.
    junebreeze

    so.. celebrating today not spring completely here, but the knowing that it’s coming!

    edit: verses i read in the next few days after writing this… {perfect}

    “see, I am doing a new thing! now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
    I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.” isa. 43: 19

    “we wait in hope for the Lord; He is our help and our shield.
    in Him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in His holy name.
    may your unfailing love rest upon us, Lord, even as we put our hope in you.“  ps. 33: 20-22

Comments (29)

  • Those are very encouraging words.
    I love the pictures, too.

  • I hear you Amber…that ache in your heart for spring, for life abounding, for the hope of warmth. But it is coming, the birds know it and sing thanksgiving to their Creator. I adore the faith of birds, singing in the early morning before the sun has even risen because they *know* it will and singing while it is yet winter because they *know* spring will come. We could learn.

  • it’s the knowing it’s coming!!! yes. and YES! love that. it’s been on my mind. it’s that whole, “sometimes God waits forever to change everything speedily…and to avenge suddenly. Could it be? that He tarries because He’s got more for me than I’ve got for myself?” and when spring gets here… the season as well as the new thing He’s doing elsewhere, like inside places, let’s have a spring party!! :)

    love to you on this spring’s almost here day!

  • @onehappymomma - yes, we should take notes from the birds!! {pun intended} ;) ))

    seriously though – sweet thoughts, eli. love that everything around us points back to Him!

  • @down_onthefarm - can i let you in on a little secret?? sometimes when i post i literally think, “i can’t wait to see cindy’s comment..” because usually, the words you add seem to help confirm what i was trying to say, or sum it all up better in my own mind. or atleast.. just remind me i’m not crazy!! ;) ) i love that about us.

    this – “Could it be? that He tarries because He’s got more for me than I’ve got for myself?” wow. exactly.

    and mmm.. yes, please, on a spring party. i’m all over that one. love back~

  • When I hear the birds talking around here, I stop what I’m doing and listen and watch. I love how God has a way to make me soak in the moments that Stress would like me to ignore. I love your photos…that you show the difference that the seasons and weather make on the lake. I do hope (as I sit here peeking out the single paned old window to see if any more snow fell) that your spring will come and stay til it’s summer!

  • A-men!

  • I posted late last night before reading you post and it seems we had the same thoughts on our minds this week :)
    My hubby and I walk our street almost every day and are just in awe of the silence except for the singing of the birds – we just look at each other and smile, not saying a word, just listening to them praise their provider – the one who got them through the Winter. And, He will get us through the “winter” months of our life too!! The sun does shine again, color and brightness do return, hope is reborn. YAY

    Psalms 63:3-4 The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.
    Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. Ps. 150:6 – now, I’m not sure the constant barking of the neighbors dog is praise to God – not to my ears! ;)
    Beautiful photos! I need you to teach me how to take better pictures!!

  • I was just laying here in bed with Isaac listening to the birds. Then he got up and ran out. ;)
    Spring is coming. I’m ready for it!

  • Encouraging words. Beautiful pictures.

  • ah, i see you also have had the visit/comment from another country. ;)
    i love this post Amber…and, while i enjoy all of the seasons, this year i am ready for spring! so ready!
    beautiful landscapes above…the frozen tundra and the gentle waves. so pretty.
    happy weekend to you!

  • I love that winter pic of your family. Would make a fun canvas.
    Let me just say to put all your doubts aside because spring is coming-I’ve got proof, and in fact it’s almost here and it will get there eventually. I can’t ever wait to see everything turn green again and again even though I’ve seen it do it for 25 years now. There’s just something about everything new and green and all the flowers that makes me love it so. And the birds they seem to love it too. I can remember in the bleak of winter all is quiet outside but when spring comes all those birdies sing for joy. love it!
    Happy weekend to you! xoxo

  • Signs that the new is coming always excite my soul. In the earth as well as in my heart. I love it when He starts to come…and then just comes!! The spring season was His idea and it always carries the life that my winter soul needs. Thank you for this reminder of warmer days coming…of birds singing and colors swallowing up the black and white of winter! I just felt a warm breeze in my heart! Thank you for this post. Bless you sister!

  • @Richgem - yes.. God gets our attention in all kinds of ways, eh. i want to be more intentional about noticing them…

  • @wj3km - yes! it’s been the “winter months of life” i’ve been feeling more acutely than even the actual snow.. grateful for the HOPE we have in Him!! and the way everything – all nature even – points us right back to His faithfulness!! except as you said.. that neighbor’s dog. ;) )

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - i was just telling shayne, “no one ever says.. i’m so not looking forward to spring!” ;) ) i think everyone’s ready!

  • @foreveranoatneygirl_n2Hisown - the random foreign comments, what’s with that? they were like on a gazillion of my past posts too. creepy. :/

  • @redladybug18 - i love how your words about the assurance of spring coming, remind me how those who’ve been through hard times in life can look at those still in them and encourage them that lighter, happier days are ahead. they will sing again! :) )

    and hey.. you and all those single girlfriends of yours need a trip north!! ;) )

  • “the life that my winter soul needs.” exactly!

    thank you friend. your words always bless my heart~

  • I wish I had written it. You are our herald, Amber,, with your words and pictures.
     Love

    Michel

  • We had a taste of spring today. Opened all the windows for a couple hours ’til the temps started to drop again. I actually got to ride the bike in shorts for the first time this year. They’re talking about snow next week, but it can’t last long. Already the geese are disappearing and there are fishermen at the creeks. It’s an exciting time of year for sure. We haven’t had a bad winter here, but I look forward to the buds and blossoms and birds nests that come with the changing of the season.

  • I heard birds for the first time yesterday mornings. I was so excited!
    and today…it is snowing, again. We’ve had so much this year. As long as I keep in mind it will be cold until May! around here, I don’t get down about the weather. Any warm day is just bonus! Ha!

    Encouraging words.
    Happy Tuesday to you. =)

  • Hmmm, that is beautiful. And so encouraging!
    The words, and the picture.
    It’s a rainy day here, so even though we don’t have the snow of the north, it’s still not spring-like here.
    And I look at your FABulous tan on that picture, and it gives me hope too.
    That I won’t always have my winter whites [like now].
    The days of a tan are a-comin’! :)

  • Your blogs and information attracts me to come back again n again.
    get more youtube views

  • I’m flattened by your contents keep up the excellent work.
    how to increase youtube views

  • As we had another dumping of snow over the weekend, this is a appreciated reminder.

  • I have got the superb information from these blogs finally.get more youtube views

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *